CapeCodHistory.us home page,
posted July 2006
note: pictures to be added later
The town chapters are organized with history, industry, schools, churches and villages first, followed by a biographical sketch section. The biographical sketch section is split from the rest for several towns, due to the large file sizes. The complete Bourne chapter, No. XV, is pages 323-365.
History of Barnstable County, Massachusetts
edited by Simeon L. Deyo.
1890. New York: H. W. Blake & Co
TOWN OF BOURNE.
Trading Post on Monument River. —Indian Hamlets. —Natural Features. —Land Purchases. —Settlement and Early Events. —Formation of the Second Precinct. —Salt Works. —Shipbuilding. —Early Mills. —Ship Canal. —Erection of the Town of Bourne. —Town Affairs. —Churches. —Schools. —The Villages and their Institutions.
—Biographical Sketches. [separate file]
THE territory embraced in the present town of Bourne, having been included for more than two hundred years in the town of Sandwich, the reader will refer to the preceding chapter for a more minute political and civil history of both prior to the separation in 1884. The early settlement and development of villages and communities within the limits of Bourne are regarded as the beginnings of this town, and will so appear as far as the early records are separable. While a careful examination of the proprietors' records of Sandwich reveals the exact location of but few of the earlier settlements of the ancient town, our purpose herein will also be to notice, so far as practicable, those settlers, who, prior to 1700, made homes within the present limits of Bourne. The town can claim that the soil within her borders was first cultivated by Europeans. Colonial history says that in 1622—two years after the landing of the Pilgrims at Plymouth—Governor Bradford visited the little Indian village of Manomet, now long known as Monument.
The subsequent trading post, mentioned more fully at page 26. was attended by Mr. Chandler and Elijah Ellis, and the fields at the north of Mrs. Mary Ann Perry's then waved with the golden maize in its season. In 1635 a tidal wave swept over the Cape on the 10th of August, destroying the trading post and partially filling the river with sand. When the white man came Bourne contained other Indian hamlets beside Manomet. At the south was Pokesit, now Pocasset; and still to the south was Kitteaumut, now Cataumet harbor and vicinity; while north of all these and extending into the adjacent town of Plymouth was Comassakumkanit, containing the seat of the Herring pond Indians.
The surface of the town presents the undulations common to the Cape towns, and has a soil of sandy loam. The ponds are numerous
but small; Herring pond, the largest in this vicinity, being- but partially in the town. Mill pond has an area of fifty-seven acres: Deep Bottom pond, thirty-four; Flax, sixty-four; Long pond, twenty-eight; Upper Pocasset, twenty; Lower Pocasset, ten; two Succonesset ponds of twelve acres each; one southwest of Flax, twenty-one; another at South Pocasset of twenty-two; and many smaller ones.
Bourne is the western town of the county, having Plymouth and Wareham, of Bristol county, on the north, Sandwich for its eastern boundary, Falmouth on the south, and Buzzards bay on the west. Bourne neck is a fertile tract of land at the head of Buzzards bay, lying between Cohasset narrows and Monument river, and on which the growing village of Buzzards Bay is situated. Wenaumet neck, with its lighthouse, is an important point, and assists in forming a good harbor for Pocasset in the southern portion of the town; and Scragg's neck—now an island at high water—serves the same purpose for South Pocasset, near the Falmouth line. The smaller bays and inlets of rivers, along the western coast of Bourne, on the greater bay, afford safe anchorage for shipping.
This fifteenth town of the county, and the youngest as a body politic, had early events of an interesting nature. Its fertility and peculiar advantages were early seen, and not many years had elapsed after the first proprietors of the parent town had taken up the land along the bay of Cape Cod, before they looked upon the present territory of Bourne with a longing, which resulted in a petition to the general court for permission to purchase, and assistance in purchasing Manomet. On May 13, 1654, at a special town meeting, the framing of this petition was submitted to Mr. Dillingham, Goodman Tupper, William Newland, Goodman Bourne and Thomas Dexter. That these gentlemen moved immediately in the matter is not shown by the records; but they do show the appointment of Michael Blackwell, in 1670, as agent of the Herring river fishery, showing that at that time the proprietors were in legal possession of the land to and including the river. The records of 1672 say, "Mr. Edm. Freeman Sr., Wm. Swift, Thos. Wing Sr., Michael Blackwell, and Wm. Newland were requested to go forward settling and confirming the township with the sachem of Manomet or any other;" and not until later is mention made of permanent settlers at Monument.
The Perrys, then living at Scusset, were admitted as freemen in the year 1677, and in 1680 they purchased lands along the south bank of the Monument river, where now is the village of Bourne. They have descendants in the town who claim their coming was of much earlier date; but the town records do not substantiate the assertion. The four sons of Ezra Perry—Samuel, Ezra, jr.. John and Benjamin— built their cabin here, and many of the people residing at Bourne
have seen the vestiges of this home. Tradition says these four sons of Ezra Perry traded at Herring river, and coming home at night used to shelter themselves behind a large rock near their house and fire three or four bullets through the door, to drive out any lurking Indians who might be secreted there. The rock is large enough to have sheltered many more Perrys, and is to be seen on the premises of Ordello R. Swift, near the flagstaff he erected a few years ago.
The purchase of the south part of Bourne had not yet been made, as on the 18th of May, 1680, "Thos. Dexter, Stephen Skiff, and Thomas Tupper were appointed Agents to buy of the Indians all the undisposed lands that lie between Plymouth, Barnstable, and Suckanesset —all they can buy of the rightful owners." Two selectmen of Plymouth, and William Bassett and Daniel Allen of Sandwich, settled the bounds between this town and Plymouth, April 9, 1701, " beginning at Peaked cliff on the seaside, running to a rock on the westerly side of Herring pond, thence to the little pond below the dwelling house of John Gibbs, jr., thence to a marked pine tree by the fence in the meadow of Benj. Gibbs by the Red Brook, thence by this brook to the bay." In 1706 a further purchase of lands was made by the town, from Zachariah Sias, an Indian: "A tract at Herring river, on the west side of the line run between the town and Indians' lands."
Settlers came rapidly to this part of Sandwich, and Ebenezer Nye, John Smith, Elisha Bourne, John Gibbs, jr., Benjamin Gibbs and others may be recognized as then permanently located in the territory of Bourne. Nor were all the lands of the western part of the town yet purchased of the Indians; for the town, in special town meeting, on February 12, 1708, "granted liberty to Wm. Bassett Jr. to purchase of Wm. Numick Jr., (Indian), other lands lying over against Monamet bay:" and later, in 1716, liberty was voted to Nathan Barber to purchase the remainder of the lands of Numick: then followed a re-survey of the old line and an extension of the line between the towns of Plymouth and Bourne, which was as follows: " Beginning at a white-oak bush on Peaked cliff, marked on four sides, with stones about it: from thence running S. E. 3º to the westerly side of Herring pond abt 2 rods from the mouth of sd pond to a rock: and from said rock to the Wareham line." During the period of time covered by the additions of territory, as mentioned, that part of Herring pond and along Buzzards bay had become the seat of communities. The travel from Plymouth to the Cape became of so much importance that the general court had ordered a road to be laid out from Plymouth to Sandwich; but in 1654 it had not been completed.
In 1684, the main road from Barnstable to Plymouth, through Bourne and Sandwich, was laid out by a jury empaneled by the governor, and is now the County road, as it is known through the Cape.
Another highway was laid out later, which being beyond the memory of man, deserves mention. The proprietors' records say that Josiah Swift and others presented a petition, May 15, 1746, to the selectmen, proposing to build a new road "to be turned round the swamp in the place of the old one that goes through Herring river to Monument." This road was accepted by the town December 31, 1746, but the old one was not to be shut to the public, "if persons put up the bars and shut the gates."
The people of Bourne were intensely interested in a wild scheme for fencing out wolves; and the people of the original town of Sandwich pursued the idea with that persistency which they usually manifested. At a town meeting of Sandwich, held May 27, 1717, the town manifested a desire to have a fence made as speedily as it can well be done from the Picket cliff over to Waquansett bay to keep off the wolves from coming into this county; and in order to do it that Wm. Bassett, the town clerk, do send to the selectmen of the respective towns of the county that they propose to their respective towns of the county at their .next townmeeting to joyn with us in the charge, and to inform them that if they will bear their proportion with us of £500, that we will make a good board fence of more than six foot high, and what the charge is more than that we will bear it."
This scheme was not favorably considered by any other towns except Falmouth, which by vote acceded to it. Then the town's representative was "Instructed to apply to the general court for an act requiring the towns below, in consideration of the great destruction of sheep by wolves, to bear their part of the expense of a fence across the isthmus, sufficient to exclude wolves."
The founders of the present flourishing town of Bourne continued their improvements in roads. On the 19th of May, 1718, the people in town meeting assembled, by vote "did approve of the road that leads through the Herring river so called, and so up to Manomet, allowing as it has been used and accustomed; so likewise ye way yt leads out of that way again over the sd Herring river by the house in which Thomas Jones now dwells and so up to the house of Nathan Bourne in which he now dwells."
The fishing privileges of Herring river have been, and still are controlled by the town, and are a source of profit. The quantity taken from this river exceeds that from any other on the western part of the Cape. Early in the last century the supply of herring so far exceeded the demand for fish food, that the surplus was used to fertilize the fields, and the growing custom of using them in each hill of planted corn was checked in 1718. the town fathers ordering that none should be taken in future to "fish corn." The fisheries of the entire town are now controlled by the selectmen, and this of Herring river is an
important branch. The right of the people to have each family a certain share of herrings is sustained, and the profit beyond this is sold to the highest bidder. For the year 1890 this privilege was sold for one thousand dollars, reserving two barrels for each Indian family, and a barrel for the head of every other family in Bourne or Sandwich, the latter town having a common interest with the former in the herring rights.
This people early had been active in the matters of the church, which by dissensions had become reduced to a small membership, and at the close of Mr. Smith's pastorate, in 1668, James Skiff, Thomas Tupper, Thomas Tobey, Jacob Burge and William Bassett were the only active male members. In 1732 a petition was presented by certain ones "to be released from paying for the support of the minister, and to be set off as a distinct precinct." This request was refused on the ground that the petitioners are widely scattered and in all make less than 20 families; " and it was voted by the town that the return of the disaffected is the only way to restore our ancient glory of unity and peace."
Again, in 1744, Ebenezer Wing and twenty-three others of Pocasset and Manomet petitioned to be released from paying to the support of Mr. Fessenden and town schools, which by the vote of the town was refused. The application for a precinct was renewed in 1769, and in 1772 Pocasset was incorporated as the second precinct in Sandwich. These last petitions had been carried to the general court where the prayer of the petitioners was granted. This division was only of the church, but the feeling that ultimately resulted in the division of the parent town and erection of the town of Bourne, existed from this time. In 1797 an ineffectual attempt was made to divide the town, the movers desiring to include Monument, Pocasset and other portions in the new township.
This portion of the parent town had been first in many enterprises of the clay not yet mentioned. It raised its portion of the schoolmaster's salary, and at Pocasset and also at Monument the school was kept a proportion of the year. Early in the present century salt was manufactured around Buzzards bay. The last of these extensive manufactories, at Back river, succumbed to the change in affairs about the middle of the century. Ship building was an industry as early as 1800, and was carried on by Captain William Handy, who retired from the seas and engaged in it successfully, establishing a shipyard near his house on Buzzards bay. He sent forth from his own yard the ship Rebecca, the brig Fame, the schooners Resolution, Nancy, Sophronia, Love, Achsah Parker; the sloops Betsey, Nancy and Deborah, and other smaller vessels designed for the Long Island Sound trade during the war of 1812. Benjamin Burgess built the brigs Cordelia and Sarah
Williams at Sagamore, and soon after 1830 he built the schooner Caroline, on the knoll by the creek on Watson Freeman's land. Benjamin Burgess and Abner Ellis built the bark Franklin for the West India trade here about 1837; and the bark Lysander in 1842. Schooners and sloops were built on the banks of the stream below Keith's factory, and the canal is yet visible where they were compelled to cut across an elbow of the stream to float the vessel. Very many of the people of the town have followed the sea as shipmasters.
The superior advantages of Herring river for mill power, early turned the attention of the settlers to the enterprise, and as early as 1695, the proprietors' records, under date of December 17th, say," the town have granted liberty to Mr. Elisha Bourne to sett up or cause to be sett up a grist mill upon the Herring river, so called, where it may be most convenient, provided it shall not be prejuditial to the herrings going up, and that he that shall keep sd mill shall grind all the corn that he grinds of all sorts for two quarts per bushel." This was cheap grinding, but the site and privilege were granted by the town, and the conditions were undoubtedly very just. This mill for grinding long ago fulfilled its mission; but in 1717 we hear of it again; for permission was given by the town "that a sawmill be sett. up somewhere between the grist-mill and Herring pond's mouth, but not to prejudice herring up or down." This was granted to Benjamin Bourne, who built the mill, but he was kept under surveillance by the town officers on account of the herrings. These mills caused much trouble to the herring business and were compelled at times to cease running.
The selectmen of Sandwich, in 1734, ordered ''that the mill be stopped from grinding, from 1 of April to May 20, unless Medad Tucker and Samuel Gibbs decide that the course of herring is not obstructed."
The old mills mentioned have made their paragraphs in history, and like their founders belong to the pages of the past. The saw mill site is marked by some of the foundation stones, and but little of the grist mill building remains. The town has no grist mill now, nor do we find that any has been erected during the present century except a wind null at Pocasset, erected about 1845 by Parker & Dillingham, and that was sold to go to Falmouth after a very few years. The wind mill now at Cataumet was built in Rhode Island and moved to New Bedford, thence about 1853 to Cataumet, by Perry G. Macombcr, then proprietor of the Red brook estate, on which it stands, in ruins, since the September gale of 1889.
The proposed ship canal across the Cape, when completed, will be almost wholly within the limits of Bourne. Its course as surveyed is from Scusset harbor, through Sagamore, along the valley in which Bournedale is situated to the village of Bourne, thence to Back River
harbor. The town of Sandwich, within whose limits it then was, gave its consent to this canal in 1801. Other companies prior to the one engaged have accomplished more or less, but all have effected but little compared with the grand whole. The present company has given an earnest of its intentions and ability to prosecute the work by purchasing much valuable property along the surveyed route, and excavating a small portion of the proposed channel.
The vote of 1889 appropriated two thousand dollars for the support of the poor. The other appropriations were: For schools, live thousand dollars; for roads, forty-five hundred dollars; and for other town expenses, fifteen hundred dollars. They also made a liberal provision for the selectmen to have a transcript made of the records of Sandwich, the parent town, by H. G. O. Ellis, which transcript will be deposited with their own.
For over two centuries had the fathers and their living descendants residing in Bourne contributed to the prosperity of the entire town by taxes and expenses, which, in later years, they believed were disproportionate to their relative advantages. This belief only increased the unrest of that portion, and the desire, which we have noticed as existing a century before, for self-government. The lapse of time for two generations had increased the reasons for and strengthened the determination of the people of Bourne to erect a town of their own, and in 1860 steps were again taken in that direction. The opening of the civil war diverting the attention of all concerned, the subject was practically dropped until 1873, when hearings on the petition of Captain Nathaniel Burgess and others for a division of the town of Sandwich, were held before a legislative committee, but the line of division as proposed not being satisfactory, a strong opposition was developed, and the project was defeated. These reverses only strengthened the hope and determination of the people, and they patiently waited until more sure of success. In 1883, a new movement, broader and stronger than previous ones, was inaugurated. The citizens of Pocasset, Monument and North and West Sandwich rallied, determined to have a township by themselves. The first meeting was held in the school house at Monument, December 15, 1883, with Captain Nathaniel Burgess in the chair, and Edward S. Ellis as secretary. After discussing the matter, William A. Nye, Edward S. Ellis, Zadock Wright. Benjamin B. Abbe and Joshua A. Baker were appointed a committee to complete a permanent organization. At the adjourned meeting, held at Welcome Hall, Monument, December 29th, this committee reported the following officers, which were accepted: Ezra C. Howard, Nathaniel Burgess. George I. Briggs, John P. Knowlton, John A. Beckerman and William A. Nye, as an executive committee, with Mr. Howard as chairman and Mr. Nye as secretary; Isaac N. Keith, Nathaniel
Burgess and Benjamin B. Abbe, finance committee; Ebenezer Nye, James T. Handy, M. C. Waterhouse, Joshua H. Baker, John A. Beckerman, Paul C. Gibbs, Nathaniel Burgess, George E. Phinney, George I. Briggs, Isaac Stevens, John G. Wright. Ezra C. Howard, Nathan B. Ellis, John P. Knowlton, Levi Swift and Edward S. Ellis, a general committee.
The vote of the meeting was to accept no line of division except the line between West Sandwich and Sandwich village. Many petitions were sent to the legislature for and against the measure; counsel for both sides, with witnesses, were heard January 24,1884, before the committee, at the state house. Boston. The territory of the new town and the old was looked over personally by the legislative committee, and the strongest measures were brought to bear by the petitioners and remonstrants. The opposition was led by hope to follow the bill through all its legislative phases, but they were promptly met at every turn by its friends. It was sent to the executive and received his approval April 2, 1884. and the old town of Sandwich was cut in twain. The new town, with an area of over 23,500 acres, and a population of 1,363, including 419 voters, was called Bourne, in honor of the late Hon. Jonathan Bourne, of New Bedford, a native of the town. A meeting for organization and the election of temporary officers was held April 12, 1884, and these officers called the regular town meeting for April 23d.
In May, 1884, the line between the old and new towns, surveyed by Edward S. Ellis and Charles M. Thompson, was approved by the selectmen. The division line "begins at a point on the shore of Barnstable Bay, 8,184 feet southerly from the Plymouth line at Peaked Cliff (so called) running thence S. 13° 53' W. 516 feet to a stone monument; thence on same course 7,138 feet to the N. W. corner of Freeman's Lane (so called), and the location of the Old Colony railroad; thence on same course 127½ feet to a stone monument on the southeasterly side of said Freeman's Lane; thence along said lane S. 44° W. 1,210 feet to a stone monument on the southerly side of the County Road; thence S. 23° 26' W. 17,707 feet to a stone monument on the northerly side of the Pocasset and Sandwich road (so called) at the intersection of Turpentine Road (so called), with said road; thence S. 15° 32' W. 4,068 feet to a stone monument on the easterly side of said Turpentine road, at the junction with the old Turpentine road (so called); thence S. 18° 58' W. 7,547 feet to a stone monument at the southeast corner of the intersection of the Turpentine road and the county road between Pocasset and Snake pond; thence S. 35° 22' W. 7,631 feet to a stone monument at the northwest corner of the intersection of the Turpentine road with the Howard Road (so called); thence on same course 9,553 feet to a stone monument at the Falmouth line on the easterly side of the Turpentine road."
The regular town meeting of April 23d elected for town clerk, William A. Nye; for selectmen and overseers of the poor, Ezra C. Howard, David D. Nye and Albert R. Eldridge: for assessors, David D. Nye, Moses C. Waterhouse and John P. Knowlton; for treasurer and collector, Nathan Nye; for superintendent of schools, Levi R. Leavitt.
The officers elected in 1885 were: Ordello R. Swift, town clerk; David D. Nye, Albert R. Eldridge and Jedediah Briggs, selectmen. The selectmen were to also act as assessors and overseers of the poor, and the clerk as treasurer. The same officers were elected for 1886, and for 1887 the same clerk, and Nathan Nye was elected as selectman in place of Jedediah Briggs, the remaining two being re-elected. In the springs of 1888, 1889 and 1890 the town voted the continuation of clerk and selectmen of the previous year, an evidence of capability on their part, and an expression of confidence by their townsmen. The town has, as yet, erected no public buildings. Since it was incorporated, the poor of the town, which in 1889 were only five persons, have been boarded at the poor house of the town of Sandwich.
A division of the taxes was made by the selectmen of the old and new towns on the 23d of July, 1884, by which Bourne had to pay $1,083.67—$47.34 more than the old town; and of the county tax, $655.24—$28.62 more than Sandwich. On the 24th of December, 1884, the division of debts and property and final settlements were amicably concluded and adjusted between the towns.
Churches.—The people of Bourne, supporting now four churches, seem to realize that their religious duties are as essential to the prosperity of the town as are their educational and civil. Their ability to support separate societies, and their disposition to do so, have been mentioned. An early pastor said of Methodism in the town, that it came early and came to stay. Rev. Jesse Lee preached at Monument as early as 1791; and in 1794, after Joshua Hall, the first preacher stationed here, a class was formed, composed of John Perry and Jemima, his wife; Covel Burgess and Lydia, his wife; John Phinney and Abigail, his wife; Zaccheus Hatch and Ann, his wife; Christian Burgess, Christania Perry, Maria Nye and Anna, her sister, and Phoebe Swift. These thirteen pioneer Methodists have many descendants in Bourne. Joshua Hall was succeeded by Joseph Snelling in 1795, and he by Ephraim Kibby in 1798. Daniel Webb and Reuben Jones were stationed here in 1799, and Joshua Soule in 1800-1; David Bachelor, in 1802-3; Joseph Snelling, in 1804; Moses Currier, in 1805; Nathaniel Elder, 1806; Thomas Asbury, 1807; Joseph Snelling and Joseph Merrill, 1808; Benjamin Lombard, 1809; Stephen Baley, 1810; Aaron Lummis, 1811-12: Stephen Baley, 1813: William Frost and Thomas Peirce, 1814; J. W. Handy and Richard Emory, 1815; Moses
Fifield, 1816; Benjamin Hazleton, 1817-19: Father Edward J. Taylor. 1820: Taylor and Benjamin Brown, Sandwich and Harwich. 1821: F. Upham, 1822; A. D. Sargent. 1823; Jonathan Mayhew, 1824; Erastus Otis and John Hutchinson, Sandwich and Falmouth, 1825; F. Upham, 1826-27; Enoch Bradley and Nathan Spaulding. 1828; Frederick Upham, 1829-30; Steele, Janson, Marsh and Noble. 1831-32; J. B. Bliss and Josiah Litch, 1833; Joseph Barstow. 1834; Philip Crandon, 1835-36; Abraham Holway, 1837: Joseph Brown, 1838: H. Mayo, 1839; Joseph Marsh, 1840-41; Nathan Paine, 1842; Anthony Palmer, 1843: G. W. Brewster, ]844; Heman Perry, 1845; N. Goodrich, 1846-47; W. H. Richards, 1848; D. PI. Swinerton, 1849-50; Joseph Macreading, 1851; S. Stebings, 1852; J. B. Hunt, 1853; E. B. Hinckley, 1854; E. S. Stanley, 1855; F. Sears, 1856-58; J. B. Washburn, 1859: George PI. Winchester, 1860-61: A. W. Swinerton. 1862-63; G. A. Silversteine. 1864; J. B. Husted, 1865-66; Philo Hawks, 1867-69; C. N. Hinckley, 1870-71: E. S. Fletcher, 1872-74; J. H. Humphrey, 1875-76; E. J. Avers, 1877: A. L. Bearing, 1878-79; C. N. Hinckley, 1880-82; R. Burns, 1883-85; J. G. Gammons, 1886-88; and J. Q. Adams, 1889.
The Methodists and Congregationalists worshipped in the same house for a time, but jealousies arose and this dual worship ceased. The first Methodist Episcopal church building at Bourne was erected in 1831, Captain Ellis M. Swift being the principal mover; he built the church and received for the thirty-four pews enough to pay him. This house was enlarged at a cost of $1,218 in 1843. and was owned by individual pew-owners for the next forty years, but in 1883 it was made free. The church society is strong and prosperous.
The Methodists at Sagamore had preaching and meetings until their strength enabled them to organize a society, which was effected by those interested here. A church building was raised July 27, 1828, and dedicated in June, 1829, as the Union Free Church, but has been occupied by the Methodists since, and is now the property of that society. In 1852 the building was remodeled and one row of windows substituted for the two, which improvement gave it a more modern appearance. The society, which is prosperous, built a parsonage in 1865. Preaching was supplied from Sandwich village early, and just when the society commenced with its own settled minister is difficult to decide. The conference records show that in 1848 Rev. Robert M. Hatfield was stationed here, and was followed in 1852 by Rev. Benjamin L. Saver. Thomas D. Blake came in 1854. and the pulpit was supplied by C. H. Payne of the Sandwich charge in 1857. We next find John H. Cooley here in 1859, who was succeeded by Abel Alton in 1860, by Thomas D. Sleeper in 1862, B. K. Bosworth in 1863. and Franklin Gavitt in 1866. The present church records give for stated ministers: H. B. Cady, appointed in 1871; Philip Crandon, 1873; Asa
N. Bodfish, 1874; C. E. Walker, 1876; H. S. Smith, 1877; A. McCord, 1878; G. H. Butler, 1880; G. H. Lamson, 1882; Robert Clark, 1884: Edward Lyon, 1886: Hugh Copeland. 1888; and E. F. Newell since April, 1889. The church clerk is A. T. Rogers.
The Methodist Episcopal church edifice at Cataumet is historic by its age, and the uses to which it has been put and the changes it has undergone, being in part the one once used as an Indian church at Burying hill, Bournedale. While standing on its former site, Rev. Mr. Tupper was the preacher from 1769, the general court paying him for his services for Christianizing the Indians; but the natives were not disposed to attend divine service, and the edifice was removed in 1779 to its present site. Mr. Tupper died in the year 1796, and was succeeded by Rev. Ebenezer Hinds of the Baptist faith until 1806. The first Methodist clergyman here was Rev. Joseph Snelling, and the building was repaired during his pastorate. The Methodists, under various names, have had the ascendency since, and have become a strong and prosperous society. From 1822 the society took the name of Reformed Methodist church, and thirteen years later we find the name Methodist Protestant, and under their management the church building was again repaired and the bell placed in the tower. This remained its distinctive title until August 31, 1866, when Rev. Lorenzo D. Johnson accepted the pastorate under Presiding Elder Thomas Ely, and the church was reorganized under its present name.
The pastors have been: Reverends Erastus Otis; Frederick Upham, D.D.. now of Fairhaven, Mass.: Levi Nye; Mr. Brown; Pliny Brett, who came in 1822; Joseph Snellings, about 1830; Joseph Eldredge, October 1, 1835; William Tozer; Joseph K. Wallen; David Hill; David Culver; Samuel Chapman; Moses Brown; James Magall, 1852: Richard H. Dorr, 1854: Joshua Hudson, 1857; William Marks, 1859; George Pierson, 1859: Netson W. Britten. 1861: Lorenzo D. Johnson, 1866: Joseph Marsh, 1867; Hopkins D. Cady, 1870; Franklin Sears, 1871; Charles W. Ryder, 1872; Henry F. A. Patterson, 1873; S. W. Coggeshall, D.D., 1874: Richard H. Dorr, 1875; Daniel M. Rogers, 1876; Edward Williams, 1879; Samuel Fox, 1881; Louis M. Flocken, 1888; John H. Buckey, 1889.
The Baptist church at Pocasset, standing on an eminence near the station, was formerly in use at Snake pond, having been taken down in 1838 and removed to Pocasset site. It was enlarged and modernized, and in 1889 moved to a more central location near the railroad station. The society was organized April 9, 1838, as the Baptist Church of Christ, of Pocasset. The original members were: Hezekiah Lumbert, Levi Barlow, Obed Barlow, Solomon N. Barlow, Obed Barlow, jr., Eliab King, Caleb Benson, Elizabeth Barlow, Lucinda Barlow, Eliza-
beth Barlow, jr., Susan Kelley and Polly Benson. Its first deacons were Hezekiah Lumbert and Levi Barlow.
Caleb Benson, the first preacher, was succeeded in 1839 by Alexander Mellen; in 1841 by Nathan Chapman; then by supplies for several years. Henry Coombs was pastor in 1852, and supplies from Middleboro and Providence filled the pulpit for nearly a score of years, as the records of the church indicate. Isaac Alger preached in 1872; Rev. Hickok in 1873; D. Jones in 1876; A. H. Murray, 1878; supplies, 1879 to 1885; Mr. Livermore, 1885; W. W. Hackett, 1887; and W. A. C. Rouse since 1888.
The society is in a prosperous condition and sustains a well organized Sabbath school. Of the thirty-two active members, W. A. Barlow is the present deacon, and Miss Susan H. Barlow, clerk. About fifteen years ago the society purchased of the town the school house of the Pocasset district, and remodeled it into a suitable hall for social meetings and society purposes, standing nearly opposite the present school house.
The Second Congregational church of Sandwich deserves a mention here. It was situated at Bourne village, between the schoolhouse and the residence of George I. Briggs, and meetings were held in it by the "town minister," at stated periods, on the Sabbath, for the benefit of the members residing in this western portion of the town. Thirty-three of them organized themselves into a separate society, July 9, 1833, and in 1834 a new edifice was erected, which was destroyed by fire in August, 1862, during a thunder storm, and was not rebuilt.
Two years previous to the formation of this society, they acted independently of the First church, in so far as to establish regular service at this house of worship, and secured the services of many ministers for short periods. Rev. Nathaniel Barker supplied them for a year after their organization, and for six months in 1835, Rev. Daniel Tappan supplied the pulpit. Mr. Tappan's labors being crowned with an abundant harvest to the society, he was ordained its minister late in the year, and continued his labors until July 24, 1838, when for two and one-half years Samuel Colburn ministered. In 1841 Hazael Lucas was installed pastor, and continued until November, 1845. From February, 1846, William Ottinger supplied for two years. From 1848 to the destruction of the church building, in 1862, Reverends Joseph Garland, Ezekiel Dow, Nathaniel Cobb and Levi Little supplied. There are but few of the faith here at present, and no preaching is separately maintained.
Schools.—The schools of the town did not seem to [receive any check by the transfer to new rulers; but, on the contrary,] were noticed in the report of December 31, 1884, as greatly improved. Eight districts belonged to this town by the act of 1884, with buildings ap-
praised at $8,050. L. R. Leavitt, the superintendent, manifested unusual interest during the year in the advancement of every branch, favoring the teachers with an Institute during the autumn, and two meetings for discussion and exchange of experience. For the year ending December 31, 1885, the number of scholars enrolled in the public schools was 277—fifty-four more than the previous year.
The school building at Buzzards Bay was enlarged during the year, at a cost of one thousand dollars, and a high school began September 14, 1885, with thirty pupils, a portion of whom had formerly attended such schools in other towns. The expenditures of the year aggregated $3.650 for the common, and $970 for the high school.
The school year of 1886 was still more prosperous, the number of schools aggregating eleven—one high school, two grammar, six mixed and two primary. The high school had so increased in numbers, that the addition of a room for recitation purposes was made in the spring of 1887, in time to commence the spring term; and the employment of an assistant in this department was made imperative by the increase of patronage. The class of graduates for 1887 gave proof of the earnest application of the pupils, and the faithfulness of the teachers and school officers. This school, that three years before was deemed so doubtful an experiment by some, was now acknowledged of inestimable worth. The elevation of the standard in attendance is always an indication of advancement and improvement. The supply of maps and other apparatus had been without stint, and the study of the science of physiology had at once been commenced, in obedience to the law of 1885. and the best advice of the highest educators.
The liberal policy of the citizens in their school management had commenced a return of that reward due them for their wisdom. The legislature in its May session of 1888 distributed among the towns of the state $40,000 for the support of schools, under certain conditions, and the town of Bourne had become entitled to a liberal share. The appropriation for schools for 1889 was much in excess of the first year of the town: and the most excellent care bestowed by these citizens upon this important foundation, will result in a most beautiful and glorious temple. There are still eight districts—one at Cataumet, one each at Pocasset, Monument Beach, Bourne, Buzzards Bay, Head of the bay, Bournedale, and Sagamore, besides high and grammar schools, the entire system employing- twelve teachers.
Villages.—The present small villages of the town are the natural outgrowth of convenient places for post offices or stores while the communities were removed several miles from a greater centre. It has several of these, but Bourne (formerly Monument) has been chosen as the location of its office for the clerk and meetings of the selectmen. It is a pleasant village on the Monument river and con-
tains some very pretty residences. The Pern's were the first settlers, as has been mentioned, and had stores here at an early date. Caleb Perry, grandfather of Mrs. Hiram Crowell, kept a small grocery store here, as early as 1810, on the knoll south of the river. About 1824 Elisha Perry built a house where Persia B. Harmon resides, and in a lean-to he had a store. Charles Proctor succeeded him, and in turn was followed by James Ellis, who came across to the north side of the river and engaged with Ellis M. Swift a short time. In 1847, when the Old Colony railroad made its advent into Bourne. Ellis M. Swift built a store next to the track, north side, where he continued the business until it was burned in January, 1854. The store was then rebuilt by Mr. Swift on its present site, and has been owned successively by him and his sons—William R., Seth B., Abram F. and Ordello R. Abram F. Swift built the store he now occupies, adjoining the depot, in November, 1877, to which he removed, Ordello occupying the former until 1888, when he was succeeded by F. C. Eldridge.
Monument post office was established here February 5, 1828, the mail being received from horseback riders until 1832, when a stage line was established. Elisha Perry was the first postmaster, with the office at his store. The office was kept by those succeeding him in the store, until James S. Ellis was appointed. September 23. 1845. Ellis M. Swift was appointed September 7, 1849, and removed it to the store across the river. Erastus O. Parker received the office on June 7, 1853, at the depot, where it was kept until 1872. Abram F. Swift, the present incumbent, was then appointed, and removed it 1o his store. The office in 1884 took the name of the new town.
The only lumber yard of the town is kept here by A. R. Eldridge. It was started in 1877 by Mr. Eldridge, and is along a wharf of the Monument river. Lumber and shingles are mostly brought from Maine, around the Cape, up Buzzards bay to the yard. The only public building is Welcome Hall, the property of a stock company of many members. Its erection, late in the year 1884, is largely due to the energy of Moses C. Waterhouse. It is situated on the south bank of the river, and is used by the town for occasional town meetings.
Ellis M.Swift was the first agent here for the Old Colony company in 1847, and was succeeded in 1853 by Erastus O. Parker, who moved to Buzzards Bay in 1872; then Abram F. Swift became agent. Late in the year 1877 the present station was erected on the site of the former.
Buzzards Bay is pleasantly situated on Bourne neck. It is the junction of the Woods Holl branch with the Cape Cod division of the Old Colony, and has advantages which could render it the first village in the town. This village site was originally the home farm of the Bournes, and from the home farm of Benjamin F. Bourne, deceased,.
the present lots were laid out. This gentleman had a store at his residence in 1807. It now contains over thirty residences, and the town meetings for elections and public business are held here. The first store here was opened in 1873, by Isaac Small, jr., which he occupied until it was burned, January 25, 1889. For four years previous to its burning, a store had been kept by David H. Baker. In March, 1889, Baker sold to Mr. Small, who is now the only merchant here. About 1875 he was appointed postmaster, which position he has since held, the office in its location following the changes of his store, and in its name that of the station in 1880.
Prior to the completion of the Woods Holl branch, Cohasset Narrows was a flag station, but in 1872 it became one of the most important on the Cape. The present depot was built the same year, and C. S. Bassett was appointed agent.
There were no hotels here until 1872, when Erastus O. Parker built the Parker House, just north of the depot, and has since been its host. The same year Dr. John Garfield erected a hotel, the Monamet House, of which he was host two years, and was succeeded by L. H. Baker, R. P. Collins, and Mrs. Grey; and by Wesley B. Pierce for the last five years prior to 1889.
The Buzzards Bay citizens resolved to have a hall for their own and public use, and a stock company of one hundred shares at ten dollars each was decided upon. The stock was taken and on the 15th of April, 1879, the organization was perfected. The building, called Franklin Hall, is a wooden structure situated near the station.
Pocasset village is 3½ miles south of the village of Buzzards Bay, and in the history of the town the locality is of much importance from its early settlement and prominence in the affairs of the old town of Sandwich. The name is a corruption of the Indian name Poughkeeste, and later Pokesit. Barlow's river runs southwesterly through this beautiful section into the bay, where a fine harbor is formed by Wenaumet neck on the north and Scragg's on the south. Red brook connects Handy's pond with the same harbor.
Scragg's neck was formerly the property of the first parish of Sandwich, over which there was a controversy when Pocasset was instituted as a second parish. The name of the post office is Pocasset, although the name of the station was changed April 1, 1888, to Wenaumet—a name which, in time, the village of Pocasset will naturally assume.
The oldest industry here is the furnace and works on Barlow's river, which were built as a blast furnace in 1822 by Hercules Weston. It was sold in 1832 to Rufus Kendrick and John A. McGraw of Boston, and Branch Harlow of Middleboro, who continued the business as the Pocasset Iron Company. Its furnaces were altered and stoves, kettles and hollow ware of various kinds were manufactured. Howard Perry
purchased the property and it was burned during his ownership: but was at once rebuilt and passed into the hands of Blackwell & Burr of New York city, who, after an active business of several years, closed it in 1855. The first fancy top and bottom for an air-tight stove was cast at this furnace, Charles H. Nye making the patterns during his seventeen years of service as foreman of the works. It is just to mention that the merit of the products of this foundry has not been entirely superseded by the rapid progress of the age, for its wares are still in use; William Hewins, of Falmouth, now has a stove of the pattern mentioned in use in his parlor. The foundry was sold in 1880 to Henry S. Sterling, and was again burned in 1881. He rebuilt it, and upon his death in 1882 it passed to the ownership of the Tahanto Manufacturing Company, who changed its manufacture to fancy castings. The Tobey Island Club purchased the premises and business, in 1888, and leased to Mr. Jameson, who is making ornamental articles of late devices, including bric-a-brac, bas-relief in bronze, statuary . and plaques. A store was opened here during Mr. Perry's ownership of the furnace, and was practically a company store, conducted by George W. Ellis & Co., until the close of the furnace about 1855. Asa Raymond opened a store in 1844, which he has since successfully managed in an addition to his residence. Jesse Barlow has had a store since 1887 at the residence of Dea. W. A. Barlow.
A post office was opened here February 6, 1828, with Hercules Weston postmaster, succeeded April 16, 1834, by Howard Perry Zebedee Green was appointed August 12, 1859. and was in turn succeeded in 1862 by Asa Raymond at his store. Elisha H. Burgess was made postmaster April 1, 1888, and has the office at his store, where he has been in mercantile business eight years.
Cataumet, or South Pocasset, as formerly known, is a mile to the south of Wenaumet station, on the Woods Holl branch of the railroad and on Red Brook harbor, in whose waters are found an ample supply of fish, giving employment to many of its citizens. The change of its post office April 1, 1888, to the name of Cataumet (from the harbor at the southwest) and the naming of the station also, has entirely obliterated the old name. It is a pleasant little summer village enjoying all the facilities of land and sea. At an early day the stage line from Sandwich to Falmouth brought this vicinity in communication with the outer world, but from 1870 to the establishing of a post office, their mail was supplied by Asa Raymond in his daily rounds. Alden P. Davis has been postmaster since the office was opened in 1884, and has been the station agent since 1885. David Dimmick kept tavern here many years where his grandson Frederick now keeps the Bay View House. This community was favored with a store prior to 1872 by Sylvanus E. Handy, succeeded by Alonzo S. Landers, who
built anew, and in 1888 sold to the present merchant, A. P. Davis, who erected a fine new store in 1889. Another little store has been kept here for the past five years by Reuben P. Lawrence. The oyster and fishing business is here, as elsewhere along the bay, a profitable industry, engaging many persons, the most prominent of whom we mention elsewhere.
Monument Beach is a summer resort between Buzzards Bay and Wenaumet station on the Woods Holl branch, and is now increasing in growth and importance more rapidly than any other village in Bourne. Its long rows of pretty residences, as seen from the bay or passing train, create within the traveler a desire to enjoy its loveliness. It has summer hotels and every convenience for recreation. It overlooks Back River harbor, with Tobey's island nestling in the bay opposite, and is one of the most picturesque spots along the bay coast of Bourne. Perez H. Phinney, who was made postmaster in 1878, keeping the office in a suitable building across the track from the depot, also fills the position of station agent. The growing importance of this romantic spot induced David H. Baker to erect a convenient building and open a store in the spring of 1889. There are many retired shipmasters here, enjoying the fruits of their perilous labors, concerning whom, as well as other prominent seafaring men, oyster men and artisans of the town, individual mention will be made in other sections of this work.
Bournedale, formerly called North Sandwich, is pleasantly situated in the north part of the town, in a valley through which the ship canal is surveyed. Burying hill, now the property of Francis H. Ellis, is here—a round, high knob of land which was the burial place of the Herring Pond Indians when the whites first came, and has been since the memory of the present residents, by whom no use of the hill has been made. Upon a plateau on its southern slope is the site of the church which was removed to the south part of the town, and at the base of the hill is the never-failing "Meeting-house spring." A flagstaff and seats crown the hill, and its commanding view leads the pleasure seeker and antiquarian to the summit. The fish house of the town is located here, on Herring river, and is so constructed that the herring must pass through the narrowest possible limit for the stream, under the house, at which point large quantities are taken for food and bait. Just above, are the remains of the old grist mill of 1695, surrounded by a dam from which much important machinery has been propelled.
In 1821 a trip-hammer and axe factory was erected west of the old mill, of which the flume only remains. Prior to 1830 Thomas Swift and Mr. Fox built an addition to the old gristmill, which was used for manufacturing purposes, but was taken down. About 1836 the busi-
ness of the nail manufactory, near by, required more room and other facilities, when E. Ellis & Co. erected the present building, leaving a portion of the old mill on the east. Deming Jarvis was the successor of Ellis & Co. He cut staves for the Boston and Sandwich Glass Company and ran a saw mill until 1870. The only machinery now driven by the wheel is that belonging to the axe factory of Seth W. Holway, and the new drill factory erected in 1890 by William A. Nye.
The buildings and works of the Howard Foundry Company are just below Burying hill. This is the most important industry of this little village. Ephraim Ellis and Isaac Bent, in 1831, erected here suitable buildings on the river, where iron was rolled into plates and cut into nails. Ten cutting machines were used and many hands employed. N. Bourne Ellis purchased the interest of Mr. Bent in 1834 and this branch of industry was continued under the firm name of E. Ellis & Co. until 1838. The advent of puddled iron and the financial condition of the country after the trying ordeal of 1837 rendering the business unprofitable, the works were closed. Deming Jarvis and Clark Hoxie purchased the plant in 1840, converting it into a machine shop and foundry. Buildings was added to the north and south sides of the original building, and prior to 1850 the north building was burned, the evidences of which are still visible. The foundry was idle for a term of years and about 1870 was purchased by Ezra C. Howard, who continued it as a foundry, casting for cars and machinery. William A. Nye, who had been with his uncle, Mr. Howard, since 1871, leased the property May 1, 1884, and became its owner in 1885. Several competent workmen are constantly employed by Mr. Nye, who supplies the Keith Manufacturing Company, and large manufactories at Wareham with various necessary castings.
Of a necessity a post office was established here and we hear of Mason White as postmaster in 1837, receiving mail from Sandwich, succeeded by Nathan B. Gibbs, July 22, 1845. When the railroad came in 1847, Charles Bourne was appointed station agent, and in April, 1849, as postmaster, which positions were filled by him and his daughter Lucy until a few years ago. William A. Nye and Edward S. Ellis served a short time each and the present incumbent, Frederick A. Boswell, in 1884 assumed the care of both.
Before the term of Mason White as postmaster, this part of the town, according to the government records, was supplied by mail from an office called Buzzards Bay, which was established here February 7, 1831, with Henry Gibbs, postmaster. He was succeeded in March of the same year by Bethuel Bourne, who held the office until its name was changed to North Sandwich, July 11, 1837.
Sagamore, the flourishing village formerly known as West Sand-
wich, is on the line of the proposed canal, and has one of the tributaries of Scusset harbor to afford power for manufacturing purposes. It contains about sixty residences and business places, and is one of the prettiest rural villages of the town. Nearly all the site on which it is built was once the farm of the pioneer Thomas Burgess, who lived just east of the village on the north side of the present county road and opposite the present residence of John P. Knowlton. A depression in the old orchard marks the spot where, in 1637, he built his residence.
This point was early a favorite resort for fishermen, and in 1695 the resort called "Tom Swift's" was famous. He was allowed by the selectmen to keep an ordinary, and that implied the right to keep everything but dry goods.
The most important enterprise here is the Keith manufacturing works, for the building of freight cars of the box and flat pattern. The Old Colony, the Boston & Maine, and other roads use the cars manufactured here. This business is the outgrowth of a shop for a wheelwright and blacksmithing business, erected in 1829, by Isaac Keith, father of the present owner, on the dam adjoining the building" that contains the present engine and machinery. This led to a machine shop and forge in which, in 1849, a large business was done manufacturing tools for use in the California mines. Hiram T. Keith, in 1861, became a partner with the father, and in 1867 Isaac N. Keith became interested, and they purchased the business, in 1869, of the father, who died in 1870. In 1882 Isaac N. Keith became sole owner and proprietor, and in 1887 added the buildings at the north—the workshop 56 by 120 feet and the paint shop 40 by 175—all covered with a strong truss roof of the Monitor pattern. In the various buildings fifty experienced men find employment. The requisite power has increased with the works and is now supplied from an eighty horse power engine. The lathes, planers, trip-hammers and other machinery are of the latest and best manufacture, indicative of the superior work of the plant. Mr. Keith, whose time has been recently absorbed by legislative and other duties, has an efficient foreman in B. P. Bray.
Stores were kept here early, and in those days store and post office were generally together. We find Benjamin Burgess engaged in a store where Hiram Crowell lives soon after the war of 1812. Here was kept the post office established January 1, 1825, and receiving mail by the Plymouth stage. Isaac Keith was made postmaster November 17, 1836, purchasing the business of Mr. Burgess, and continued the post office there. Charles H. Burgess was appointed postmaster September 26, 1840, and also took the business. He was succeeded in the store by Asa Besse, who after a few years moved
away. Later Hiram Crowell started store again where Benjamin Burgess had kept, but after a few years discontinued. Paul Crowell also had a store quite early, and continued until his death. Levi Swift opened a store in the old school house by the Methodist Episcopal church soon after 1870. In 1885 he sold to N. H. Knowlton, who moved to the present store near the depot. Mr. Knowlton sold to B. B. Abbe & Co. in 1888, and they to the present firm of Crosby Bros. & Co. in June, 1889.
The post office on May 9, 1853, was put in the care of Isaac Keith, who was postmaster and agent of the railroad company until his death in 1870, when Isaac N. Keith was appointed postmaster and station agent, which offices he nominally continues. The present fine depot, which is also the office of Isaac N. Keith, was erected in 1887.
Liberty Hall was erected in 1879, and has a seating capacity of 250. The building committee was Nathan Nye, Hiram Crowell, I. N. Keith, H. T. Keith, J. P. Knowlton, Seth F. Swift, William R. Gibbs and B. B. Abbe. .
Benjamin B. Abbe, born in 1841 in Boston, is a son of Alanson Abbe. His mother was Hepzibah,. daughter of Benjamin Burgess, who was born in 1778, and died in 1864. He was a son of Elisha and Hannah (Nye) Burgess, and was a merchant in Boston from 1816 until his death. Mr. Abbe was brought up by his grandfather Burgess, his mother having died when he was a babe. He has been a permanent resident of Sagamore since 1864. He was married in 1863 to Emma, daughter of William Burgess. Their children are: Benjamin B., jr., Frank G. and Mary E. Mr. Abbe owns some of the real estate which was bought by Thomas Burgess in 1637, and which has continued in the family since that time.
Abbott L. Aldrich, son of Wellington Aldrich, was born in 1849 in Dover, N. H. He bought the Red Brook property and Red Brook wharf at Cataumet in 1885, and in April, 1889, he came to make his permanent residence here. He was in a restaurant in Boston seven years. He was an actor for nine years when a young man. He was married in 1877 to Mary C. Abbott. They have three sons.
Herbert C. Ames, the youngest son of Cephas I. Ames, was born in 1855 in Barnstable, and is a carpenter by trade. He was married in 1880 to Mattie, daughter of William Ellis. They have two daughters.
Laureston E. Ames, born in 1839 at Nantucket, is also a son of Cephas I. and grandson of Isaac Ames. His mother was Rhoda H, daughter of Samuel Nickerson. He was at sea from 1851 to 1869. He came to Buzzards Bay in 1873, where he has been engaged with
the Old Colony Railroad Company since that time. He was married in 1860 to Ann Herring. Their children are: Elmer E., Cephas E. and Geneva E. One daughter died.
Nathaniel Atwood, born in Wellfleet, is a son of Eleazer and grandson of Nathaniel, whose father was Eleazer. His mother was Betsey D. Harding, who was the mother of fifteen children, of whom nine are living. Mr. Atwood came to Buzzards Bay in 1877, where he has since been engaged in the oyster business. His wife was Louisa A. Newcomb.
Zamira J. Avery, born in 1849, is a son of Gilbert E. and Reliance (Taylor) Avery, grandson of John, and great-grandson of Joshua Avery. He is a moulder by trade, but since 1886 he has been engaged in the meat business at Pocasset. He was married in 1871 to Deborah F. Adams, who died in 1877. He was married in 1878 to Sarah F. Pulsifer. They have two sons: Watson E. and Francis B.
David H. Baker, born in 1833 in Dennis, is a son of Hiram and grandson of Zenas Baker. His mother was Rebecca, daughter of David Howes. He was at sea fifteen years. In 1868 he came from Dennis to Bourne, where he was a farmer for eighteen years, when he sold his place for a club house, and he has been a merchant since that time. He was married in 1855 to Amanda M. Bassett, who died in 1887, leaving five children.
Joshua H. Baker, born in 1842 in West Dennis, is a son of Hiram and Rebecca (Howes) Baker. He was a seafaring man until 1867, when he came to the town of Bourne, and since 1875, has lived at Buzzards Bay. He was appointed justice of the peace in 1885. He was married in 1875 to Alice F., daughter of Oliver C. Wing. Their two children are: Lila May and J. Arthur.
Captain George W. Bacon, son of Owen and grandson of Jabez Bacon, was born in Hyannis in 1825. His mother was Abigail (Burse) Bacon. He was master of vessels most of the time from 1847 to 1886. During his early seafaring life he shipped in sailing vessels, and was captain at the age of twenty-two. In 1861 he began steamshipping for United States transports, and later was coast pilot from the Brooklyn navy yard. He was on several ships, including the Colorado, the Despatch, the Wabasli, and the monitor, Dictator, in which he went from New York to Key West in February, 1869. In the convoy with the monitor was the Juniata, man of war. A heavy gale was encountered off Savannah and the Juniata put in to Tiba Roads, Savannah. The captain telegraphed to Washington that she had lost the monitor. He received a telegram to return, saying that the monitor had arrived in Key West all right, and ordering the captain of the Juniata to proceed there with all haste and report to the captain of the monitor. Captain Bacon returned to New York, and most of the time since has been employed
by the Reading Steamship Company. He retired in 1886. He was first married to Sarah A. Burse, who died in 1880, leaving three children: Sarah, Rose and George W., jr. He was married October 10, 1883. to Hannah P., daughter of Allen Bourne.
Jesse B. Barlow, born in 1838, is the eldest son of Jesse and a grandson of Jesse Barlow, who came to Pocasset from Newport, R. I., when a lad, and married Polly Godfrey. They raised four children, of whom three sons are living—one in the West, and Jesse and William A., in Pocasset. His mother was Maria Ellis. Mr. Barlow has been a sailor since 1847, and has had charge of vessels since 1862. He was married in 1858 to Susan H., daughter of Frederick Westgate. They have three children: Zetta F., Jesse F. and Flora M.
Edward W. Barlow, youngest brother of Jesse B., was born in 1856. He has been at sea for the last fifteen years, and master of a vessel since 1879. He was married in 1878 to Elizabeth Wright. Their children are: Frank E., Susan, Sarah M. and Alden W. He is a member of Marine Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Falmouth.
Captain George F. Bauldry, son of Samuel Bauldry, was born in England in 1824. He was at sea from 1836 until 1888, and was for several years a most successful whaling captain, sailing from New Bedford. He died September 25, 1889, at his home in Bourne. He was married in 1853 to Nancy E. Berry, who, with three children— George L., Ella E. and Lyman C.—survives him.
Everett E. Berry, born in 1861, is a son of Gideon and Sabra A. (Eldridge) Berry. In 1878 he began work for the Old Colony Railroad Company (Woods Holl Branch), and since 1885 has been a conductor. He was married in 1884 to Ella Brown, and has two sons and one daughter. He is a member of Woods Holl Lodge, Knights of Honor.
Edwin A. Blackwell, born in 1846, is the eldest son of Edwin H. Blackwell. His mother was Sarah, daughter of Gershom Ellis. Mr. Blackwell is a contractor and builder and also does some architectural work. He was married in December, 1880, to Abbie G. Walker. They have two children: Agnes P. and Otto B.
Elliott B. Blackwell, born in 1852, is a son of Captain Henry S. and Mary (Ellis) Blackwell and a grandson of John and Hannah (Swain) Blackwell. He is one of seven children, of whom only he and his sister, Mary A., are living. He has been a carpenter for several years. He was married in November, 1888, to Susan F. Douglass.
Ellis H. Blackwell, born in 1839, is a son of Ellis and Lydia (Perry) Blackwell, grandson of John and great-grandson of Patrick Blackwell. From boyhood until 1874 he was engaged in coasting and sailing, with the exception of a few years spent in California
and Montana. Since 1874 he has been in the oyster business. He was married in 1871 to Rowena A., daughter of Stephen Cahoon.
Benjamin Franklin Bourne.—On that beautiful slope of land at the head of Buzzards bay, in Bourne, in its rich landscape of land and sea, stands the ancestral mansion in which the honored subject of this sketch was born February 25, 1816. He was a scion of that family tree from Puritan stock transplanted by Sir Richard Bourne, into Sandwich in 1637. and the fruits of whose branches have been cast in their golden harvest over this portion of Barnstable county. In this particular branch the male line of eldest sons were: Sir Richard, Job, Timothy, Timothy, Dr. Benjamin, Esquire Benjamin and Benjamin F. Bourne, who died of typhoid pneumonia at this home February 11, 1874, after an illness of twelve days. The life of this just and active citizen was replete with incident and usefulness. His boyhood was passed on the home farm and in the district school until his attendance at Wilbraham Academy in his eighteenth year. His adventurous disposition induced him when nineteen years old to ship from New York city on his first voyage, and he followed the sea more or less until his marriage, September 1, 1846, to Miss Elizabeth Lincoln, a descendant of Captain Rufus Lincoln, of Wareham, and of revolutionary fame.
The newly discovered gold fields of California offered such inducements, that a company of twenty-five men in the winter of 1848-9 chartered the schooner John Allyne, with A. Brownell, captain, and Benjamin F. Bourne as mate and sailing master, and left New Bedford, February 13, 1849, for this then far-off land. The incident dangers of doubling Cape Horn induced the company to attempt the passage of the Straits of Magellan. On the first of May, Mr. Bourne and three companions went ashore to purchase fresh provisions and were captured by the savages of Patagonia—a race of cannibals— who retained him for a ransom of rum and tobacco. By the treachery of the natives he was compelled to remain a prisoner, enduring hunger and hardships that would have proved fatal to ordinary powers. He effected his escape after ninety-seven days of horror and suffering, and was enabled by the kindness of ship captains to complete his voyage to the golden land. His trials for three years fill an interesting volume written by himself and which passed through two editions that his many friends could each possess a copy. The government sent the sloop of war Vandalia to rescue him, but he had escaped. After his return home and restoration to comparative health, he, with Mr. DeWitt of Albany, N. Y., had a fine brig built on Long Island, and he continued coasting until 1857, when he retired to till the paternal acres of the homestead. His father, Benjamin Bourne, Esq., after a long and useful life as a legislator and selectman, died December 21, 1868, in this same home erected by him in 1807; and the surround-
ing estate fell to the care of Benjamin F. The residence had been erected to face the ship canal, looking south; but a general remodeling was given the house, only leaving two large rooms as reminders of the past.
In his retirement and the cares of his estate, Mr. Bourne did not seek official honors, although he was often pressed by his many friends to serve in various capacities, which he invariably refused. His quiet, firm judgment gave him strength in counsel and action, and his advice and presence were sought after on all important occasions. His name and support to any measure was an earnest of its justice and success, and because he insisted upon certain benefits for the western part of the town (now Bourne) the people of Sandwich village gave him the name of ''Dictator." He foresaw the ultimate division of the old town and the growing importance of resorts and village lots at Buzzards Bay, and at the time of his death he was actively engaged in dividing and plotting into lots that portion of his estate, now the site of that growing village. His funeral was largely attended February 16, 1874, by friends from abroad, and the newspapers of the cities of the Commonwealth, as well as of the county, teemed with eulogies and descriptions of his useful and remarkable career, in a life, which was shortened, undoubtedly, by his early hardships. Surviving him, besides his widow, are the children—Lizzie Lincoln, who married Fred. O. Smith; Annie De Witt, widow of Joshua Handy, deceased; and Benjamin F. Bourne, the only surviving male representative of this line, the eldest born, William H. DeWitt, being deceased. The surviving children reside with the mother on the home estate, except Mrs. Smith, who lives near by. The children of Fred. O. Smith, who married Lizzie Lincoln Bourne October 8, 1873, are: Frederick F., Lottie I., Daniel DeWitt, Kate M. and Edith L. Mr. Smith is not only a civil engineer, but a contractor and builder; and the son, Benjamin F. Bourne, has the care of the estate. The children of Mrs. Annie Handy are: Richard Clifton and Edith Florence Handy. The life and character of Benjamin F. Bourne, deceased, are marked by those characteristics that led his ancestors to Christianize the natives; and his practical Christian principles in public and individual affairs has left to his memory a more enduring monument than that erected in the private ground of the estate.
Jerome L. Bourne, born in 1848, is a son of Joshua and Mary Ann (Cady) Bourne, and grandson of Jonathan Bourne. He was a sailor for fourteen years, but since 1881 he has been a painter. He was married in 1873 to Emma, daughter of George T. and Hannah S. (Bourne) Gray. They have three children: Austin G., Ralph W. and Rebecca A. Mr. Bourne is a member of the Bourne Methodist Episcopal church, and is trustee and steward of the same.
Samuel Bourne is a son of Nathan and grandson of Samuel Bourne. His mother was Hannah, daughter of Moses and Rebecca Swift. Mr. Bourne's great-grandfather, Elisha Bourne, was an early settler from England. He was a tory during the revolution and on that account had to flee from his home and hid away in woods owned by himself for some months. He afterward went to Connecticut and remained till peace was declared, but lost much of his property by so doing. He was an officer under King George and took the oath of allegiance just before the war broke out. Two years before the war broke out he sent to England and purchased a clock for eighty dollars, which is now owned by Mr. Samuel Bourne and is 117 years old. Mr. Samuel Bourne followed the sea until about ten years ago, and since then has been a farmer. He was married in February, 1853, to Mary G., daughter of Lewis and Rachel Perry7 (Solomon6, Timothy5, Timothy4, John3, Ezra2, John Perry1). Their two sons living are Charles E. and Nathan L. Ansel, deceased, left three sons: John, Chester and Charles.
Benjamin F. Bray was born in 1847 in South Yarmouth. He is the only living child of Benjamin, and he a son of Eben Bray. His mother was Olive Crowell. He entered the employ of Keith Manufacturing Company at Sagamore, in December, 1881, took charge of works at Hyannis in October, 1882, and in August, 1884, returned to Sagamore and took charge of the works there. He was married in 1871 to Clara L. Robbins. They have had three sons: Alexander F., Frank O. and Winsor E., the eldest of whom was drowned June 21, 1889.
George I. Briggs was born in Wareham November 3, 1843, and is the son of Jedediah and Mercy (Bodfish) Briggs. Educated in the Wareham schools he went to sea at a very early age and entered the navy in 1861, where he served as quartermaster during the rebellion on the Southern coast, and was often under fire, being on several boat occasions one of the few who escaped alive. He married, in 1872, Thirza Ayer Keen, and has one daughter. He is a member of Charles Chipman Post, G. A. R., Sandwich, has been some five years on the school committee, and is in many ways a driving, useful citizen in the town of Bourne, which he lent a strong hand to incorporate and organize.
Aaron L. Burgess, son of Perez and grandson of Covel Burgess, was born in 1811, and is a blacksmith. He has worked at the trade at Cataumet about fifty years. He was married in 1834 to Mary S., daughter of John Bourne. They have one daughter, Mary E., who married Anthony Little in 1868, and has one daughter, Hattie M.
Charles H. Burgess 2d, born in 1830, is a son of Covel and grandson of Covel Burgess. His mother was Loraina Swift. He was an iron moulder by trade. In 1862 he obtained a patent on a furnace water door, and since that time he has been engaged with the invention,
which is now in general use. He has been a member of the school board about twenty years, and superintendent for the last three years, and has also been justice of the peace. He was married in 1855 to Helen M., daughter of George Atkins. They have one daughter, Helen M.
Elisha H. Burgess, born in 1836, is the youngest son of Jabez and a grandson of Covel Burgess. His mother was Rebecca Bassett. He is a machinist and worked at that trade about six years. He has kept a grocery store at Pocasset since April, 1881. In March, 1888, he moved his store to where it now stands, and since April 1, 1888, he has been postmaster. He served two years in the war of the rebellion in Company D, Twenty-fourth Massachusetts Infantry. His wife, deceased, was Ellen Jaquith, who left two daughters: Christina A. and Mary E.
Captain Nathaniel Burgess.—Doctor Savage says of Thomas Burgess, one of the first settlers of the plantation of Sandwich, "He was a chief man of them." We safely write that none of his descendants in Cape Cod more worthily bears the name to-day than Captain Nathaniel Burgess of Bourne. He represents the seventh generation of the family, the male line of descent being Thomas, John, Samuel, Thomas, Nathaniel, Nathaniel and Captain Nathaniel. The Captain's father was born in that part of Sandwich now Bourne, May 15, 1779, and married Peggy, daughter of Peter Cammett of Barnstable, November 27, 1806. He died April 27, 1853, aged seventy-four, surviving his wife of sixty-seven by only a few days. Their children were: Watson, Nathaniel, Catharine, Hunnewell, Robert W., Malvina and Rosilla E.
Of these eight children the only survivor is the second, Captain Nathaniel Burgess, who was born at Pocasset, February 11, 1812, where his boyhood was passed in work upon his father's farm, with very few advantages for school. At the age of fifteen he went in a whaling vessel, and his proficiency secured him the appointment of mate in the whaler Robert Edwards of New Bedford, at the age of twenty-two, and that of captain at the age of twenty-six. This position he successfully filled for eighteen years, and became known as one of the most capable shipmasters; one voyage of twenty-eight months yielded $100,000 worth of oil to the owners, and another $80,000. Not only as a skilled navigator, but as a capable manager of men, Captain Burgess has an enviable reputation. He regards the control of the crew as the most difficult of the master's duties. His last crew represented nine nationalities. His voyages were chiefly in the Pacific, with a few in the Arctic seas, and at the age of forty-two he retired with a competence.
The captain has his share of perils and trials to relate to posterity, and remembers with gratitude one voyage to the Arctic seas, on which
his wife and two children accompanied him, she being the first captain's wife on the Cape to undertake such a voyage. They were embayed twelve days in a mass of ice, and the bank around the vessel shut out a view of the surroundings. His anxiety was the need of fresh water, as the necessary supply seemed uncertain. The men went out and at no great distance found a basin or pond of beautiful water in the field of ice, from which they filled and stored about one hundred barrels before the ship was loosed. The captain graphically describes the scene of endless ice fields, the men so cheerfully at work, his two children at play on the ice, and the want of water so providentially supplied.
After his first voyage as chief mate and his appointment as master, he married, on the seventh of July, 1838, Ann, daughter of Peter Cammett, jr. Their children were: Margaret, born January 23, 1846, died in 1881; Robert W., September 8, 1847; Helen, February 14, 1849. died October, 1866; Edward, June 20, 1852, died same year; Edward H., born January 15, 1854: and Lucy E., born May 24. 1857. Since retiring from sea Mr. Burgess has been engaged in the oyster business at Monument Beach, which has been since 1884 continued by his sons, Robert W. and Edward H., as Burgess Brothers, who furnish the market with the celebrated "Little Bay oysters." Robert followed the sea about twelve years, and in 1880 was married to Amanda F. Penniman. Edward H. was engaged in the oyster business with his father several years prior to 1884. He married Ella Wright in 1874, and has three sons and two daughters, who represent the ninth generation of this old family.
The subject of this sketch, Captain Nathaniel Burgess, as a retired sea captain, represents one of the most substantial and characteristic elements in the population of the county. That hard-earned discipline of mind which brought him success at sea has secured to him on land, as well, that fair degree of appreciation from his townsmen, which, in his old age, he is now enjoying. He has always advocated the principles of the republican party, but, except one year as selectman of Sandwich, has taken no official place; he was, however, associated with Isaac N. Keith and Benjamin B. Abbe on the executive committee when Bourne was incorporated, and bore his part in the work in the town and for weeks before the legislative committee. When we consider that Captain Burgess began his career at sea with less of school training than the average boy of twelve now has, and when we find him acquiring in the forecastle the elements of an English education and a practical knowledge of the science of navigation, and see him steadily advancing to take command of a ship and its crew, we have some slight measure of the ambition and energy that are, doubtless, the leading
traits of his character. His name is strength to any undertaking, and his active industry and moral characteristics are an earnest of his success.
Captain Seth S. Burgess.—This well-known resident lives in the town of Bourne, on the eastern shore of Buzzards bay, in the quiet retirement of his mature years. He was born in this vicinity, May 18, 1810. and is a descendant of the illustrious Thomas Burgess, who with a few others, in 1637, planted the first permanent settlement in Sandwich. Any who have inherited this honorable family name have a just right to be proud of this heroic Puritan ancestor, who died in 1685 and whose grave was honored with the only inscribed stone erected to any Pilgrim of the first generation. The male line of descent from this pioneer to Captain Burgess is direct, being: Thomas, John, Samuel, Thomas, Covill, Perez and Seth S.
Perez Burgess spent his later years at farming, but was captain of coasters until 1820. His son, Seth S., then a lad of ten years, accompanied him on his last voyage, and the next year went with his uncle, Jabez Burgess, as cook at three dollars per month. From that time his opportunity for obtaining an education was confined to the winter months. At eighteen years of age he was mate, and the next year he took charge of the sloop Deborah, in the employ of his uncle, Ellis Swift. After a captaincy of three years in this sloop, while at Fall River with a cargo of lumber, he met Lovell & Burr, lumber merchants, who offered him a brig in the coasting and West India trade, which he accepted. For a few years he successfully managed the brig and the schooner Patriot, visiting Bremen and other European ports. In 1838 he purchased the sloop Meteor, which he commanded two years. He then coasted south with varied and successful experiences, visiting South America and other intervening ports in the brig Massachusetts. During most of the time for the next twenty-two years he was in the employ of Thomas Whitridge & Co. of Baltimore, in the Brazilian trade, commanding the following vessels: The schooner Clara in 1851, the barque Mondamin in 1856, the ship Gray Eagle in 1861, and the barque Yamoyden in 1868. These vessels, with the exception of the Gray Eagle, were built expressly for Captain Burgess. Mr. Whitridge rarely insured the goods entrusted to the captain's care, because he felt confident of their safety. In 1873, after forty-four years in command of every kind of vessel, from sloops to ships, without the loss of a man or vessel and even without a serious accident, the captain retired to enjoy the fruits of his labors.
September 3, 1833, he married Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Reuben Collins. She died January 13, 1845, leaving two children; Clara A., who still resides at the homestead, and Seth M. now of New York
city. Captain Burgess married January 3. 1850, Lucy E., youngest sister of his first wife. She died August 9, 1879.
The captain's residence is charmingly situated in a quiet rural community, and as a typical New England homestead we make it the subject of the accompanying illustration. It is older than the Declaration of American Independence and is rich in historic associations. It was for years the home of Dea. Daniel Perry, by whose ancestor it was erected. It passed into the hands of Ezekiel Thacher, of whom the captain purchased it in 1832. The original house has received various additions and improvements, but its identity is by no means destroyed. Political preferment has not been the aim of Captain Burgess, although he has been active in the dominant party—a democrat until 1861 and a republican since. His father, an exemplary Methodist, early taught him the principles of religion and his favorite precept was "Seth, deal honestly." His life has been that marked by his resolution in the first forecastle, seventy years ago. Captain Burgess early identified himself with the Methodist church at Bourne, of which for nearly fifty years he has been an officer, his consistant Christian example and liberal hand adding their full share to its prosperity. By his thoughtful liberality and sympathy for the suffering, he has firmly bound to himself the hearts of the poor and unfortunate. From his father, Perez, through a long line of sterling worth and from his mother, Lydia, daughter of Stephen Swift, also a descendant of Puritan forefathers, the subject of this sketch can look back with pride to the foundation of those just principles of life, the application of which, on sea and on land, has secured for him a competence and an unruffled sea in his last clays of life's voyage.
P. Foster Butler, eldest son of Patrick and grandson of Patrick Butler, was born in Brewster in 1836. He was a mariner twenty-eight years, and since 1874 has been in the oyster business. He was married in 1861 to Sarah F., daughter of Gideon Berry. They have one son, Harry L. Mr. Butler is a member of Bourne Methodist Episcopal church, and steward and trustee in the same.
Joshua G. Cash, born in 1863 in Harwich, is a son of Joshua S. and Margaret (McCarta) Cash. In March, 1887, he bought a meat route of John Avery, at Pocasset, where he has lived since that time. He was married in December, 1887, to Etta, daughter of Oliver C. Snow.
Thomas F. B. Cook, born in 1828 in Sandwich, is a son of John L. and Lydia A. (Raymond) Cook. He is a machinist by trade, having worked at it since he was seventeen years old. In November, 1868, he went from Sandwich to Boston, where he has been engaged with the Dennison Manufacturing Company since that time. He built a residence in 1889 at Pocasset, where he intends to make his perma-
nent home in the near future. He was married in 1850 to Ellen F. Fowler. They have two children: Annie A. and William F. They have lost three children.
Calvin Crowell7 was born in 1824, and is the youngest of fifteen children. His paternal ancestors were: Paul6, William5, Christopher4, John3, John2 and John Crowell1, who came from England in 1635 and settled at North Dennis in 1639. His mother was Sally Sears6, daughter of Edmund5, Edmund4, Paul3 , Paul2 and Richard Sears1, who was born in 1591 and died in 1676. Paul Crowell6, born March 27, 1778, removed from Dennis to Sagamore in 1815, where he lived until his 1866, death, August 25, 1866, his descendants then numbering 109—children 8, grandchildren 43, great-grandchildren 57, and great-great-grandchild,. 1. Mr. Crowell is a large cranberry grower. He was married in 1857 to Laura A., daughter of Clark Swift. Their children were: Walter L., Emma F. (deceased), Annie F., Frank C, Ada L., Bertha M. (deceased), and Mabelle E.
Hiram Crowell, born in 1822, is the fourteenth child of Paul Crowell6 (see above). He is a carpenter by trade. He was in Cuba and other foreign countries several years, and for the last thirty years he has, in connection with other business, engaged in cranberry culture. He was married in 1850 to Eliza S. Ellis. His second wife was Hepsie C. Harlow, and his present wife was Martha H. Perkins.
Hiram E. Crowell8, born in 1839. is a son of Paul7, and he a son of Paul Crowell6 (see above). His mother was Lydia, daughter of Thomas Ellis. He has been engaged in the cranberry culture for thirty-five years. He was married November 27, 1864, to Hannah L., daughter of Levi Swift. They have four daughters: Lenore, Nettie L., Crystina L. and Sadie M. They have lost three sons.
Alden P. Davis, son of Captain Daniel Davis, a native of Sandown,. N. H., was born in Derry, N. H., in 1836. In 1873 he removed from Boston to Cataumet, where he built a summer boarding house—"The Jachin "—having capacity for seventy-five guests. He is a merchant, has been station agent since June, 1885, and postmaster since the office was established in 1884. He was married in 1859 to Mary L. Stebbins of Bradford, Vt. Their children are Mary E., wife of Irving F Gibbs. and Anna G.
Frederick Dimmick, born in 1836, is the oldest son of Frederick and grandson of David Dimmick. His mother was Mary Ann, daughter of David Lawrence. He is a carpenter by trade. He built a large house at Cataumet in 1876. where he keeps summer boarders and accommodates the traveling public. On the same site his grandfather, David Dimmick, kept a tavern for many years. He was married in 1866 to Tirzah, daughter of Vinal N. Hatch. They have two children: Lena F. (Mrs. Thomas A. Fuller) and Henry B. L.
Joseph Dimmock, son of David and Esther (Wing) Dimmock, was born in 1821. His grandfather was also named David. His wife, Sarah, who died May 10, 1889, was a daughter of Elnathan Wing and a granddaughter of Judah and Rebecca Wing. Judah, son of Nathaniel Wing, had fourteen children, and with his family lived on what was then called Wing's neck—now Wenaumet—where he died at the age of eighty. Captain Dimmock was married in 1849. His children are: George C, Henrietta G., Edward C. and J. Frank. He followed the sea about fifty years, being captain about half that time.
Cyrenius Eldridge, born in 1840, is a son of Cyrenius and grandson of Samuel Eldridge. His mother was Huldah (Ellis) Eldridge. He was engaged in whale fishing sixteen years prior to 1873. He has been section master on the Old Colony railroad since 1883. He was married in 1864 to Mary L., daughter of George T. Gray. Their four children are: Almeda B., Clarence E., Cyrenius M. and Andrew G.
Horatio Eldridge, son of Cyrenius and Huldah (Ellis) Eldridge. was born in 1843. He was at sea for some years, then a section hand on the Old Colony railroad for about six years. Since 1884 he has been in the oyster business. He was married in 1867 to Emily F. Calhoon. She died in December, 1887, leaving six children: Walter L., Horatio W., Wilber C, Allen, Orrin and Helen F.
David W. O. Ellis6 (David S.5, Nathan4, Elnathan3, Gideon2, John1,) was born in 1850. His mother was Esther Whiting. During the last seven years he has been engaged in the oyster and the cranberry business. He was married November 22, 1877, to Mary Corinna, daughter of James H. West.
James S. Ellis5 (James4, Abiel3, Gideon2, John1,) was born June 13, 1822, in Sandwich. His mother was Rebecca, daughter of Ebenezer Nye. He was educated in this county, and after being six years in the mercantile business here, he went to Boston, where he was in a mercantile business twenty-eight years, fifteen years as clerk and thirteen as partner in the business. Retiring in 1879, he returned to Bourne, his present home. He was married in 1846 to Lucinda, daughter of Esquire Benjamin Bourne.
Stillman R. Ellis, born in 1842, is a son of William and Martha (Rogers) Ellis and grandson of Nathaniel and Remember (Swift) Ellis. He followed the sea for ten years, but since 1868 he has been employed by the Keith Manufacturing Company at Sagamore. He was married in 1864 to Lucy, daughter of George Gibbs. Their three daughters are: Corabelle, Lettie and Grace.
James C. Gibbs, born in 1832, is a son of Barnabas and Sarah (Blackwell) Gibbs and grandson of Ansel Gibbs. For the past twenty-five years he has been a farmer. Prior to that time he was a sailor.
He was married in 1860 to Phoebe A., daughter of Stephen Swift. They have two sons: Frank H. and Elmer L.
Paul C. Gibbs, born in 1832, is a son of Pelham, and he a son of Pelham Gibbs, who lived to the advanced age of ninety-seven years. His mother was Mary, daughter of Paul Crowell. He has been a mariner since 1844, as master since 1855. He was married in 1855 to Maria E., daughter of Jesse Barlow. They have six children: Eleanor M., Albert C, Irving F., George F., Sarah F. and Fostina P.
William R. Gibbs7 (Russel6, Pelham5, Barnabas4, Barnabas3, John2, born 1634, Thomas1) was born in 1828. Pelham Gibbs was taken prisoner in the war of 1812 and his ship and cargo confiscated. William's mother was Catharine, daughter of Levi Swift. Since 1856 he has been a farmer, mostly in the cranberry business. Prior to that time he was at sea about fifteen years. He has been justice for about fourteen years, and is a democrat. He was married in 1852 to Tempe4, daughter of Thomas Swift3 (Clark2, Thomas Swift1). They have four children: Katie R., Annie A., William R., jr., and G. Evelyn.
Josiah Godfrey, born in 1821, is a son of Josiah, whose father was Solomon Godfrey. His mother was Mary, a daughter of Nathaniel Wing. He has followed the sea since the age of eight years, and took charge of a vessel when sixteen years old. He was married in December, 1843, to Abbie Dimmock, who died July 10, 1877. He was married March 9, 1879, to Phoebe, a daughter of Solomon and Ann Kendrick.
Francis D. Handy, born 1826, and Sylvanus E. Handy, born in 1833, are two sons of Captain Luther B. and Lucinda (Witherell) Handy, grandsons of Sylvanus and Susan (Price) Handy. Sylvanus was a teacher of navigation and had besides Luther B., who was born in 1802, four other children: Calvin, twin brother of Luther B.; Charles, who married Sarah Wing; Thomas, who was drowned at sea in 1837; and Hannah, born 1800, who married Calvin Howard. Francis D. Handy is a blacksmith by trade, having worked at it about twenty years. He ran a meat and provision store in Northboro', Mass., for fifteen years prior to 1884. He has been tax collector for Bourne four years. He was married in 1850 to Adaline A., daughter of William Swift. They have two daughters: Cornelia and Genevieve. They lost two. Sylvanus E. Handy learned the blacksmith trade, at which he worked sixteen years. He kept a store eight years at Cataumet prior to his retirement in 1882. He was married in 1859 to Cornelia L. Collins, and has one son, Harrie D. Handy. Other children of Captain Luther B. Handy were: Luther, who died young: Sarah TV., who married Isaac W. Baker; Luther S., who married Susan Gibbs: John T., who married Elvira Gale: Wilson B., who was drowned; and Charles H.
James T. Handy, born in 1842, is the youngest son of John and grandson of William Handy. His mother was Phoebe, daughter of Heman Nye. He was a whale fisherman from 1857 until 1882, and master of vessels from 1864 until 1882, since which time he has lived retired at Cataumet, where he has paid some attention to poultry raising. He was married in 1871 to Emma D., daughter of Captain Hiram Baker, who was lost at sea in 1860.
Henry T. Handy6, born in 1845, is the eldest son of Joshua5, who was the youngest son of William4 (John3, John2, Richard Handy1). His mother was Dorothea C. Hathaway. He was twelve years a sailor, but since 1878 has been a farmer. He owns and occupies the old Handy homestead, which has been in the family about two hundred years. He was married in 1872 to Lydia P., daughter of Anson B. Ellis. They have six children: Herman P., Arthur H., Robert S., Anson B., Etta H. and Clifton H. They lost two in infancy.
Charles C. Hanley was born in 1851, in Lincoln county, Maine, and came to Barnstable county from Winchester. He ran a blacksmith and wagon shop until 1878, when he began to make boats and has followed this business since that time. He was married in 1877 to Deborah C, daughter of Isaac Stevens. They have one child, Sarah E., born in 1878. Mr. Hanley's father was Roger Hanley.
Benjamin B. Harlow, born in 1817 in Middleboro', is a son of Samuel and Hepze (Burgess) Harlow, and a grandson of Ezra Harlow. He came from Middleboro' to Sagamore in 1848, where he has been engaged with the Keith Manufacturing Company since that time. He was married January 14, 1864, to Mrs. Eleanor C. Gage, daughter of Anson Burgess. She had two children by her first marriage: Frank B. and Louise E. Mrs. Harlow died in 1874.
Persia B. Harmon, born in 1831 in Livermore, Maine, is a son of Nathaniel and grandson of Samuel Harmon. He is a farmer. He served about one year in the war of the rebellion in Company C, Eighteenth Massachusetts Volunteers. His wife is Lydia P., daughter of Ellis Blackwell.
Joseph T. Hathaway, born in Plymouth in 1834, is a son of Joseph T. and Lucinda B. (Raymond) Hathaway and grandson of Jacob Hathaway. He enlisted in 1862, in the war of the rebellion, serving until 1866 as acting chief engineer in the naval service. He was married in 1859 to Emily D. Le Baron. They have two children: Joseph H. and Sarah T. Mr. Hathaway is a member of the Masonic Lodge and Chapter of Hyannis, and Bay State Commandery of Brockton.
Albert Hawkins, son of William B. and Abbie Hawkins, was born in Smithfield, R. I., in 1830, and is a blacksmith by trade. He came from Pawtucket, R. I., to Pocasset, in 1877, where he has run a blacksmith shop since that time. He was in the war of the rebellion from
June, 1861, to June, 1864, as blacksmith in Company A., First Rhode Island Light Artillery. He was married in May, 1858, to Abbie F. Northup. They had one daughter, Clara, who died in infancy.
Joseph S. Hewins, born in Pocasset, January 12, 1828, is a son of William Hewins. His mother was Love, daughter of William Handy. Mr. Hewins drove a stage from Bourne to Woods Holl for a number of years prior to 1872. From 1872 to 1879 he, with his brother carried on an express business from Boston to Marthas Vineyard. Since 1879 he has kept a livery and sale stable at Buzzards Bay. He married Philomelia R., daughter of Erastus O. and Lydia (Jenkins) Parker. She died in 1879, leaving one daughter, Bertha L. Mr. Parker was born in 1810. He was a coasting sailor for some years. He was station agent at Bourne nineteen years, with the exception of four years, when his daughter Aurelia was the agent. He built a hotel at Buzzards Bay in 1872, which he and his daughter keep as the Parker House.
Charles F. Howard5, born in 1827, is descended from Calvin4, Calvin3, Jesse2 (lieutenant in revolutionary war) and Barney Howard1, who came from England and settled in Bridgewater, Mass. His mother was Hannah, daughter of Sylvanus Handy, mentioned above. Mr. Howard is a boot and shoe maker by trade, although, his principal pursuit has been farming. He owns and occupies his father's homestead. He was married in 1857 to Ann Louisa , daughter of Isaiah Fish3 (Isaiah2, John1). Mr. Howard is an Adventist in his religious faith.
Hon. Ezra Coleman Howard.—This well known and much respected, late citizen of Bourne, was the son of Calvin Howard, who married Hannah Handy and at his death left the widow and five children. The mother survived until 1887, alone rearing her family to usefulness. Ezra C. Howard, the subject of this sketch and whose portrait accompanies it, was born in Pocasset, September 1, 1831. Left fatherless before he was twelve years old, with two of the family who were still younger, he could expect little from home except the wise counsels of a wise and devoted mother, to which he ever adhered.
At this tender age he evinced that energy and ambition that marked his after life, by going to the home of his grandfather, where he could attend school in the winter. Not content with the advantages given there, he applied himself assiduously to reading such histories, travels and biographies as the library of his grandfather afforded. He thus acquired not only studious habits, but a knowledge beyond his years and beyond that usually obtained in the common schools.
While young he learned the trade of a moulder with his cousin, in Providence. He was subsequently foreman in a shop at Fairhaven,
but being ambitious to secure a wider field in which to exercise his business talent and mechanical skill, he came to Bournedale, then North Sandwich, and leased the foundry which he purchased the following year. He began the business in a small building near the site of the one previously burned, carefully advancing and building up the important works that now bear his name, and a very successful business, by which he secured a liberal estate. In the last years of his life he had associated with him his nephew, William A. Nye, who still continues the business.
In 1856 Mr. Howard married Carrie S. Dimmick, youngest daughter of Frederick Dimmick, and grand-daughter of David Dimmick, a family of revolutionary fame, who lived at Cataumet on the present site of the Bay View House. At her death in 1874, she left two daughters: Emma C, who married Nathan B. Hartford of Watertown, and Mary H., a student in Boston University. In 1876 Mr. Howard married Rhoda A., oldest daughter of Frederick Dimmick, who survives him. The final illness of Mr. Howard commenced at Bournedale in the autumn of 1884, terminating April 8, 1885, at the home of his daughter in Watertown, Mass.
The modesty, energy, industry and high moral character which marked his whole course through life have passed into history, forming a page in life's book that can never be effaced. He was active in local, state and national affairs, and during his life never lost the opportunity of voting. He was elected by the republican party to represent the First Barnstable district in the legislatures of 1871 and 1872; and as senator to represent the Island district in 1875 and 1876, which important trusts he filled with honor to himself and his constituents. He was a trustee in the Wareham Savings Bank until nearly the time of his death. In the faith of his father he turned to the Methodist Episcopal church, and to this church his principal support was given. In his life work he had only reached the meridian, but he had laid the foundation of an enduring monument.
Alonzo S. Landers, born in 1850, is a son of Ezra B. and grandson of John Landers. He was at sea about ten years, and has been engaged in making cranberry bogs by contract for the last fifteen years. He was married in 1879 to Ella H., daughter of Thomas L. Greene. They have one son, Walter M. They lost three children. Mr. Landers is a member of the Cataumet Methodist Episcopal church.
David Landers, son of Joseph and Mary (Baker) Landers, was born in 1851, and is a carpenter by trade. He came from South Sandwich to Cataumet in 1877, where he has since lived. He was married in 1877 to Achsah Hallett. She died in 1881. He married, in November, 1886, Mrs. Clara A. Hoxie, daughter of Oliver C. Wing. They have one son, Albert E.
Seth S. Maxim, son of Thomas and grandson of Jabez Maxim, was born in South Carver, Mass., in 1822, and is a stone mason by trade. He came from South Carver to Bourne in 1847. He was married in 1846 to Joanna H. Blackwell, who died in January, 1887.
David D. Nye.—Among the prominent representative men of the town of Bourne, David D. Nye, of Cataumet (formerly South Pocasset), is entitled to a high position. As the descendant of a long line of worthy ancestors, whose virtues have been transmitted, he worthily bears this old family name, which has been revered in church and state for more than two hundred years. He is the youngest son and child of Captain Ebenezer and Syrena (Dimmick) Nye, and was born November 29, 1833, in that part of the town where he now resides. On the 10th of July, 1889, his father, Captain Ebenezer, celebrated his ninetieth birthday, surviving his wife since September 20, 1872, they having reared to manhood and womanhood eight children: Angelina of Fairhaven, who is the widow of Frederick Keith; Ebenezer F., who, as master of the bark Mt. Wallaston, sailed into the Arctic seas, and of whom no tidings have ever been heard; William F., who is a successful oil merchant of New Bedford; Ephraim B., who, while second lieutenant of the Fourteenth Massachusetts Battery, was killed at Petersburg, Va., March 20, 1865; Albert G., Syrena M. and Mercy D., who are residents of California; and David D., the subject of the accompanying portrait.
David D. received his education in the public schools of Sandwich, and early in life accompanied his brother, Ebenezer F., on a whaling voyage. He was then engaged in the fruit business for eight years in New Bedford, with his brothers, William F. and Ephraim B., since which time he has been occupied in farming. He was married July 30, 1862, to Hannah T,, daughter of Josiah and Sophia N. Curtis. Their adopted son, David W., was born May 12, 1874. Mrs. Nye died on the 6th of January, 1888, and on the 4th of the following October Mr. Nye married Mrs. Esther F. Dennis of Sandwich.
Before the town of Sandwich was divided, he, in 1875, was elected overseer of the poor, and in 1879 was elected selectman of the town, which offices, with that of assessor, he satisfactorily filled until the spring of 1884, when the town of Bourne was erected. In the new town he was at once elected to the same responsible offices, which he has since filled, and since 1884 he has been chairman of the selectmen of Bourne. He also has been appointed a justice of the peace and a notary public, enjoying the entire confidence of his townsmen in the ability and integrity required for these multiplied duties. His principles have led him to affiliate with the republican party, and he is at the head of the town government to-day, and one of its standard-bearers.
For twenty-seven years he has been a trustee of the Methodist Episcopal church of his village, assisting in its advancement by his presence and means. His good judgment is often sought in the settlement of entangled estates, in the probate court and in the school affairs of his town, for which his thorough knowledge of the business forms and his sense of right peculiarly fit him. The cheerfulness with which he assumes these tasks, and the impartiality of his acts, reveal the underlying principles of his character. In the meridian of his life, within sight of his birth-place, he resides in his beautiful rural home, which commands a view of one of the prettiest landscapes on the east shore of Buzzards bay.
Nathan Nye, born in 1828, is a son of Daniel B. and grandson of Nathan Nye. His mother was Achsah, daughter of Joseph Swift. He was engaged in the Arctic whale fishing eighteen years. He owns and occupies the farm at Sagamore, where his father lived from 1813 until his death. He was collector in Sandwich several years, and collector and treasurer two years in the new town of Bourne. He has been selectman three years. He was married in 1855 to Ellen S., daughter of Walter Richards. Their nine children are: Walter E. R., Nathan M., William E., Henry S., Joseph B., Daniel B., Alfred G., Ellen R. and Susie A. R. They lost one in infancy.
William E. Packard.—The ancestral line of this family has descended from Samuel Packard, who came to this continent in 1638, and from him all of that name in America have descended. Some time in the last century Elijah Packard, a descendant of Samuel, came to the Cape, settling in the present town of Bourne, and was a prominent farmer by occupation. Benjamin was the oldest of his four children, and he also was a farmer. He lived and died in Bourne. He married Mary, daughter of Jedediah Young of Orleans, and their children were: Benjamin, Isaac, Joseph, Alpheus, William E. and four daughters.
William E. Packard is the only survivor of this family. He was born November 6, 1824, and passed his boyhood on the home farm, receiving the advantages of the common schools of that day. On his arrival at the age of twenty-one, he read medicine with Dr. John Harper of Sandwich, for two years, and when twenty-four years old went to Agawam, where for three years he was engaged in the Iron Works, but retaining his residence at Bourne. He married Thankful A., daughter of Dean S. Leinnell, on the 30th of March, 1848; Mr. Leinnell was then a resident of Wareham. This union was blessed with four children: Flora A., born June 6, 1849; a son, in 1852, who died young; Mary I., born May 20, 1853; and William E., jr., born June 24, 1856. Of these children only one survives. Flora A., in 1869, married Captain William T. Barlow, and died the same year. Mary I., in August,
1880, married Walton E. Keene of Bourne, and has two daughters— Flora A., born 1882; and Annie C, born 1888.
William E. Packard, the last of his father's group of nine children, is now in the meridian of life, and quietly enjoys the fruits of his labor upon the home farm, at the head of the bay, in one of the most romantic spots in the county. He was not content with the small farm of his father, but has added thereto until he can look out over two hundred acres of his own. He has a fine cranberry meadow, which he has had under cultivation since 1864 with the most gratifying results. Mr. Packard inherited the principles of the Methodist religion, and to this society his support has been given. He has always kept himself aloof from political intrigues, declining any active part, but is keenly alive to the best interests of the body politic, and in his unassuming manner contributes to its conduct. The competence which he is to enjoy in his declining years, is the result of that well directed purpose of his life, of which the underlying principles are industry, economy and a clue respect for the rights and welfare of his neighbors.
Andrew F. Perry, born in 1823, is a son of Rev. Heman and grandson of John Perry. His mother was Mary, daughter of (Miller) John Perry. He was a sea-faring man for about thirty years. Since 1868 he has driven a grocery wagon, and since 1884 has made a specialty of tea and coffee. He was married in 1850 to Martha W., daughter of Rufus Ellis. They- have four children: Rufus E., Francis F., Alfred L. and Warren A. They have lost two sons and one daughter. Mr. Perry is a member of the Bourne Methodist Episcopal church.
Davis Perry, born in 1818 in Pawtucket, R. I., is a son of Jabez and Mercy (Phinney) Perry and a grandson of Arthur Perry. He came to Bourne from Rhode Island in 1852. He is a blacksmith by trade, and runs a shoo in the village of Bourne. He was married in 1848 to Betsey E., daughter of Robert Ryder. He is a member of the Masonic Lodge of Sandwich.
George W. Perry was born in 1844. His ancestors were Thomas C. Perry8, Arthur7, John6, Silas5, John4, John3, Ezra2, and John Perry1, who came to this country from England in 1630: and it appears that he had a brother Edward, who came to the town of Sandwich with him in about 1637. It is probable that all the families bearing the name on the Cape are descendants of these two brothers. Mr. Perry's mother was Hannah Ellis. Mr. Perry was a sailor for thirteen years. Since 1878 he has been a carpenter and builder. He was married in 1877 to Maria McLaughlin. They have one daughter, Fannie M. Mr. Perry is a republican.
Silas Perry, born in 1828, is the youngest son of Silas and Rebecca (Ellis) Perry. His grandfather, John, was a son of John Perry. He was for twenty-five years in a nail factory in Wareham, but for the
last few years he has been engaged in boating and the oyster business at Monument Beach. He was married in 1855 to Olive L. Phinney. Their three children are: John F.. Harry E. and Wallace J. Mr. Perry is a prohibitionist.
William E. Perry, born in 1845, is a son of Caleb and Elizabeth (Henley) Perry. His grandfather was Caleb, son of Caleb Perry. He was several years a seafaring man, after which, he was for fifteen years employed in the Bay State Straw Works, of Middleboro'. In 1884 he returned to Monument Beach, where he built and ran a summer hotel three years. He has been engaged in the oyster business since 1884. He was married in 1872 to Marion L. Smith. They ' have two daughters: Bertha and Evelyn. Mr. Perry is a member of Bourne Methodist Episcopal church.
Abram Phinney, born in 1824, is a son of Jabez and grandson of John Phinney. His mother was Hannah, daughter of John Perry.. He was a sailor from eleven years of age until 1876. He was married in 1853 to Lucinda E., daughter of Perez Burgess. They have two sons: Perez H. and Roswell B.. who are both married. Perez H. has been postmaster at Monument Beach since 1878, and station agent since 1883.
George E. Phinney, born in 1833, is a son of George O., grandson of Edward and great-grandson of John Phinney. His mother was Betsey A., daughter of Jesse Fisher. He has been boating and in the oyster business for the last fifteen years. He was married in May, 1858. to Mary H. Littel. Their four living children are: George A., Amelda M., William W. and Birdella.
Jesse F. Phinney, born in 1840, is a son of Jabez, grandson of Jabez and great-grandson of John Phinney. His mother, Jane F., is a daughter of Jesse and granddaughter of John Fisher. He is one of eight children, of whom Jesse F., Sarah J., Nancy H. and Charles Henry are living: Charles H., an elder brother, was drowned June 10, 1859, aged twenty years, in Long Island sound, from the schooner Hume, of which he was first mate, his father being captain; Amelda A., wife of Captain E. H. Tobey, died from yellow fever, on the homeward passage from Rio to Baltimore, March 28, 1876, aged twenty-nine years; Jabez N. died in New Orleans, November 23, 1876, aged thirty-three years; and Charles H. died in infancy. Jesse F. followed the sea for thirty years prior to 1883: being master of coasting schooners from 1868 to 1883; since then he has been in the oyster business. He was married in 1865 to Augusta E. Baldwin, who died in 1869, leaving two children: Augustus N. and Sadie E. He was married in 1871 to Mary E. Perry.
John B. Phinney8(Heman7, Jabez6, John5, Jabez4, John3, John2, John1) was born in 1850. His mother was Abigail (Bourne) Phinney. Of her
eight children, only Elizabeth V., Abbie F. and John B. are living. John B. is a farmer. He was married in 1877 to Abbie R. Childs. They have two sons: Roswell O. and James W.
Levi L. Phinney, born in 1845, is a son of Levi and grandson of Levi Phinney. His mother was Achsah, daughter of Alvan Wing. Mr. Phinney is a farmer on his father's homestead. He was married in 1871 to Harriet L. Kendrick. They have three children: Ada L., Roland S. and Austin D. Mr. Phinney is a member of the Cataumet Methodist Episcopal church.
Sylvester O. Phinney, son of George O., grandson of Edward and great-grandson of John Phinney, was born in 1841. His mother was Betsey A. (Fisher) Phinney. He was a sailor for about twenty-five years, and for the last ten years has been farming and boating. He was married in 1869 to Abbie F. Phinney, sister of John B. Their children are: H. Chester, I. Herbert and Geraldine.
Asa Raymond, born in 1817, is a son of Asa and grandson of Ebenezer Raymond. He has been a merchant for forty-five years, and was postmaster at Pocasset twenty-six years prior to April 1, 1888. He was married in 1840 to Eliza A. Lumbert. Their children are: Ellen F., Mercy A., William H., Melissa, Lucy E., Lewis C, Adaline, Albert A. and Cora B.
Edmund B. Robinson, son of Moses Robinson, was born in 1831 in Maine. At the age of thirteen he removed to Wellfleet, Mass., where he was a fisherman and sailor until 1877, when he removed to Cataumet, and has been engaged in the oyster business there since that time. He was in the war of the rebellion eleven months, in Company C, Forty-third Massachusetts Volunteers. His wife was Mary Dunning. Their two sons are: Edmund B., jr., and George W.
Stillman S. Ryder, born in 1830, is a son of Robert and a grandson of Robert Ryder. His mother was Jane, daughter of Thomas Gibbs. He is a farmer and fisherman. He has been a member of the school committee ten years. He was married in 1851 to Cordelia F., daughter of Phineas and Elizabeth (Bourne) Perry. Their children are: Alonzo F., Abbie J., Robert J, Elma E. (died April 1, 1889), Bessie D. (born March 3, 1866, died May 13, 1883), Stillman Frank, Hattie P. and Emma L. Mr. Ryder is a democrat.
Robert J. Ryder, born in 1859, is a son of Stillman S. Ryder, mentioned above, and is a mason by trade. He was married in 1882 to Lillian G., daughter of Nathan B. Sampson. He is a member of Bourne Methodist Episcopal church.
Levi S. Savery, born in 1823 in Wareham, is a son of Samuel and grandson of Isaac Savery. His mother was Rebecca, daughter of Nathaniel Swift. He has lived at Sagamore since 1844. He was married, first, to Mary E. Burgess, who died leaving five children: Betsey
E., Mary E., Jacob, Lizzie L. and Louisa L. He was married in June, 1874, to Mrs. Caroline Bumpus, daughter of Ansel Swift of Wareham.
Isaac Small, jr., son of Isaac and grandson of Paddock Small, was born in Harwich in 1849. He was a sailor for a few years, but since 1873 has been a merchant at Buzzards Bay. He was for three years a member of the school board. He was married in 1870 to Emogene Robbins. They have four sons. He is a member of the DeWitt Clinton Lodge, A. F. & A. M.
Charles G. Smalley, born in 1835 in Harwich, is the only child of Francis A. and Asenath (Basset) Smalley. His grandfather was Thomas Smalley. He came from Harwich to Wareham about 1860, and a few years later to Buzzards Bay. He has been engaged in the oyster business since 1860. He was married in 1863 to Harriet C. Basset. They have four children: Missouri H., Ada F., Silliman B. and Elwood S.
Aaron C. Swift, born in 1829, is the oldest son of Nathan B. and grandson of Moses, whose father, Ward, was a son of Moses Swift. His mother was Pamelia, daughter of Israel Cowen. He is a machinist by trade, and was employed by the Cape Cod and Old Colony Railroad Companies from 1857 to 1885, the last thirteen years as master mechanic for the division. He was messenger in the state house at Boston one year, 1885-86. He was married in 1851 to Lucy H., daughter of Calvin and Hannah (Handy) Howard. They have one son, Nathan F. Mr. Swift is a member of Fraternal Lodge and Orient Chapter of Hyannis.
Abram F. Swift was born February 25, 1840, in the village of Monument, town of Sandwich. He is a son of Ellis M. and grandson of Stephen Swift. His mother was Deborah, daughter of Solomon Perry. He has been engaged in a mercantile business in Bourne for a number of years. He was appointed postmaster at Monument in 1864, and when the name was changed to Bourne in April, 1884, he was re-appointed. His first wife was Sarah M. Perry, who died. In 1869 he married Rosalie Waterhouse. He has two children.
George A. Swift5, born in 1830, is descended from Charles4, Ware3, Ward2, Moses1, who was born in 1699 and died 1791. His mother was Zebiah K. Hewins. He has been a carpenter by trade for forty years. He was married in 1854 to Tamsen C, daughter of John Handy. They have five children: Clara L., Albert H., George E., Alice L. and John H. Mr. Swift is a republican and a member of Cataumet Methodist Episcopal church.
Charles E. Swift, born in 1834, is a brother of George A. Swift, mentioned above. He is a farmer, owning and occupying his father's homestead. He was in the war of the rebellion from August, 1862, to July, 1865, in Company I, Fortieth Massachusetts Volunteers. He
was married in 1869 to Martha E. Adams, and has one daughter, Edna F. He is a member of Charles Chipman Post, No. 132, G. A. R.
Howard Swift5 (Charles D.4, Levi3, Thomas2, Joseph Swift1) was born August 21, 1857. His mother is Bethiah Kelley. He is the oldest of three children: Howard, Henry Russell and Fred. K. He is engaged in the cranberry culture.
John H. Taylor, son of William H. Taylor, was born in New Bedford in 1859. He came to Bourne in 1869, and from that time until 1885 lived with the family of Captain Allen Bourne. He has done an ice business and driven an express team at Bourne since 1880. He was married in 1885 to Anna W. Raymond,
Elisha H. Tobey, born in 1844, is a son of Elisha and Henrietta (Dimmock) Tobey and a grandson of Joseph Tobey. He was at sea for more than thirty years, and was captain of a barque in the coffee trade sixteen years. Since 1884 he has been in the oyster business. He was married in 1869 to Amelda Phinney, who died in 1876. They had one daughter, who died. He married Nancy H. Phinney in 1879. They have three children: Levi B., Blanche M. and Roscoe F. Captain Tobey is a member of the Bourne Methodist Episcopal church.
John W. Wedlock, son of Henry Wedlock, was born in 1829 in New York city, and is a carpenter by trade. In 1850 he went to California from Portland, Me., and lived there sixteen years. In 1866 he returned to New England and settled in the town of Sandwich, and since that time he has been employed by the Keith Manufacturing Company, at Sagamore, most of the time. He was married in 1861 to Mary, daughter of Rev. Joseph Marsh. They have one son living— Lewis C.—and lost one—Walter B. Mr. Wedlock is a republican and a member of DeWitt Clinton Lodge, A. F. & A. M.
Moses C. Waterhouse, born April 29, 1855, is a son of Moses S. and grandson of Enoch Waterhouse. His mother is Emeline S., daughter of John Bourne. He has worked at the carpenter trade since 1874, as contractor and builder since 1876. He was assessor one year, and has been chairman of school committee four years. He was married in 1877 to Sarah, daughter of Joseph Whittemore. Their children are: Lucy C, Moses S., Richard B. and Sarah L. Mr. Waterhouse is a republican.
James H. West, born November 4, 1833, in Nantucket, is a son of Richard and Mary B. (Crocker) West and grandson of Abner West. He is a carpenter by trade. He was in the war of the rebellion from August, 1862, to July, 1865, in Company E, Fortieth Massachusetts Volunteers, and in Company C, Sixth United States Veteran Reserves. He was married in 1857 to Elizabeth A., daughter of Braddock and Martha Coleman. They have four children: Gertrude. Mary C, Martha C. and Eugene A. Three children died in infancy.
Asaph S. Wicks was born in 1837, in West Falmouth. He is a son of George W. and Betsey (Robinson) Wicks and grandson of Paul Wicks. He was engaged in whale fishing from 1855 to 1886. and the last twenty years was master of a vessel. In 1889 he had charge of the club house at Tobey island. He was married in 1864 to Sarah F., daughter of Jesse Barlow. She died in 1878, leaving one daughter, Lena C. He was married in 1882 to Mrs. Susan A. Wilson. He is a republican.
Alvan Wing5, born in 1843, is descended from Nathaniel4, Alvan3, Lemuel2, Nathaniel Wing1. His mother was Hannah S., daughter of Abram Burgess. She had four children: Mary, Alvan, William H. and Walter H. Mr. Wing is a farmer. He was married in 1870 to Amelia R., daughter of Arnold Small. They have one son, Nathaniel N. Oliver C. Wing, son of William and grandson of Lemuel Wing, was born in 1826. His mother was Mary, daughter of John and Sarah Witherell. He is a painter by trade, but for some years he has been a farmer. He owns his father's homestead farm. He was married in May, 1850, to Delilah O., daughter of Warren Kendrick. Their children are: Clara A., Alice F., William B., Mary H., Lucy E., George C, Ann Eliza, Lester W. and one that died. Mr. Wing is a member of Cataumet Methodist Episcopal church, and trustee and steward of the same.
William H. Wing, born in 1846, is a brother of Alvan Wing, mentioned above. He is a harness maker by trade. He was married in 1867 to Susan F., daughter of Cyrenus and Hannah (Handy) Howard.. They have two children: Howard B. and Maud E.
Zadock Wright, born in 1822 in South Carver, Mass., is the youngest son of Zadock, whose father, Moses Wright, was in the war of 1812. His mother was Jane Tillson. He worked in an iron foundry from 1836 until 1882, with the exception of eight years, when he was at sea. He married in March, 1846, Keziah, daughter of John Avery. Their children are: Augustus W., Edgar, Ella, Andrew, Lizzie and Chester.. Augustus W. Wright, born in 1847, is the oldest son of Zadock Wright. He is a moulder by trade, and for the past three years has worked in the electrotype factory at Pocasset. He was married in May, 1869, to Anfinnetta W. Gibbs. Their living children are: Frederick A., Edith and Josephine C. Two died in infancy. Mr. Wright is a member of the Odd Fellows Lodge, No. 119, of Wareham.
Noah H. Wright, born in 1845, is the fifth son of Stillman Wright, who was the oldest son of Zadock, son of Moses Wright. His mother was Zylphia Hammond. He worked in an iron foundry about twenty years. He built a spacious residence at Pocasset in 1887. He was married in 1864 to Sarah, daughter of David Small. They have three children: Nellie, Charles A. and John. Mr. Wright is a member of Hyannis Lodge, A. F. & A. M.